Remote viewing - general guidance

Jono83

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
My use case plans for a lot of remote viewing on my android device. Basically live camera viewing and alert notifications when away from my home network.

Of course many variables but It seems like there are a lot of problems (poor response times, sometimes access available, sometimes not, etc.) with android apps reported. Seems equal number problems regardless (BI app, camera vendors apps, etc.).

So question(s):
1) is remote web access on droid device more reliable than droid security apps (BI, camera vendor, etc.) on the droid device?
2) Are all the poor reviews on the droid apps (BI, camera vendor, etc.) simply user errors in configurations of hardware & software and network connections?

Thx for guidance and yes I am studying all the great tips / documents on this site

sebastiantombs

Known around here
Reaction score
Look in the WiKi, in the blue bar at the top of the page. Lots of really good information in there. Read it on a real computer, not a phone or tablet.

Start here -

Then this one -

I use an Android phone, Galaxy S7, and UI3, the web server built into BI, all over the place, and have no big lags or hiccups.

SouthernYankee

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
I use a VPN to my home network. I use the BI Android app on my pixel XL. I use UI3 on my chromebook. After some initial problems with the configuration, i have no problems viewing my BI system. I do not use alerts to my phone, find them to be a pain in the ass, I am not interested in the lawn guy mowing the yard, or the dogs taking a crap, or a golfer looking for his ball, or Amazon tossing a package over the fence.

Cameras are for after the fact. They are not for real time security. A house break-in last about 3 minutes or less, what are you going to do in those three minutes from your phone

Jono83

Young grasshopper
Reaction score