Remote viewing my ip cam

tubac

Pulling my weight
Reaction score
Hi,

i know this is a bit convoluted but if from inside my LAN I am able to see my camera using my private ip plus the forwarded port, in my case 2000, my friend should be able to see my camera using Explorer, my public ip plus the forwarded port 2000. Actually he should get the web service page and enter the user and password I set up for him and then see my camera. Is that correct?

thanks,
Tubac

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score
Yes if you forwarded the port properly..

Sent via Taptalk

bp2008

Staff member
Reaction score
Most cameras require you to forward two ports. One for the web server (usually port 80) and one for the video stream.

tubac

Pulling my weight
Reaction score
I am new to port forwarding so please bear with me. A tech at SCK port forwarded my router when he helped me set up my system initially. I only had one camera at that time, the PTZ. I just checked the device that was forwarded and it seems it was my AirPort Extreme router, that is behind my Actiontec modem, not my PTZ cam although I can see this cam from my LAN when using its url plus the forwarded port on my iMac in Safari.
i am at a loss why this works on the one camera but it does. I thought to forward a port u must use the IP address of the device. is that so or do I have it wrong? Was this method ok with one cam but unworkable to view others? Thanks for any help you can provide!

Tubac

Reaction score
I would like to follow this post. Having similar issue. Just installed new system, 1 camera. Can view live video on the LAN, but not on the WAN. I am able to login, but the video is just black. Do we need to Enable the Sub Stream? If so, where can that be done in Blue Iris? Not sure how to do the Port Forwarding, and we set the IP up as a Static IP. Any suggestions? Thanks in advance.

tubac

Pulling my weight
Reaction score