Residential complex camera installation guidance required

Phoenix_za

n3wb
Reaction score
Hello!
I hope I lay out the situation nicely here so as to make it easy for you guys to help me out.
I am a hobbyist of IP cameras for about 11 years, with experience in D-Link and Axis IP cameras and basic network infrastructure and installation skills and I live in South Africa. Now onto the problem:

Overview:
We would like to install 2 IP cameras in our complex, covering all pedestrian and vehicle traffic going through them. The vehicles will always be halted when going through due to the gate always being closed.
The cameras should be able to effectively ID people and vehicles (license plates) at night, including during a power blackout. Each gate has a 32W Spotlight that contributes approximately 2-5 lux to each gate, which might stay powered during a blackout (especially if necessary) depending on whether or not the camera comes with an adequate IR light (or a separate IR light that can be powered over Ethernet).
The total budget is up to R30000 ($2591,42), however R10000 of that is expected to be used for the network infrastructure and UPS system.
The cameras themselves and the network infrastructure will have power backup through a UPS system.
The camera is expected to be zoomed in to the gates themselves and a little bit extra to the sides ( about 1 to 2 meters extra). The cameras could be placed at several possible positions each. Further details on positions, distances, scene widths and FoVs are given at the West gate and East gate details sections.

The problem here that needs to be resolved, is picking the right IP camera, with the right zoom levels (possibly separate lenses), with the right supplementary IR or white lighting (if necessary and the existing 32W White spotlights can be used) and at the right positions in order meet all of the following requirements:

Essential Requirements: