RS232 to UART (?) Cable

B@rry

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi All,

Need to access the 'boot screen' to resolve a failed firmware upgrade for my DS-2CD2132F-IS Dome Camera. I've reached out to Hikvision support and they eventually provided a photo of the cable in question (see attached). They advised that I would have to purchase one from a UK re-seller or distributor. However, unless I'm an installer the later don't want to help.

Questions:

- Do you know the name of the molex type adapter/pin out on the opposite end of the RS232? The best I can come up with is a UART type connection?
- Where can I buy one of these.

Thanks in Advance.

Attachments

benetton73

Young grasshopper
Reaction score

B@rry

n3wb
Reaction score
after researching on this forum, can just order a PL2303HX USB To TTL To UART RS232 COM Cable Module Converter
and Micro JST ZH 1.55mm 4 Pin Female connector

here are some links

http://www.aliexpress.com/item/Micro-JST-ZH-1-5mm-Pitch-4-Pin-Female-connector-with-wire-and-Male-PCB-connector/1664241613.html?spm=2114.13010608.0.64.nWF0We

https://www.amazon.ca/gp/product/B00F167PWE/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1
Hi benetton73,

Many thanks for your swift response. Having also found similar articles on this forum I recently purchased the above. Unfortunately, these were no good. The TTL 4 pin connectors were far too big and the molex adapter not compatible. Hence why I reached out to Hikvision support. I'm specifically after the RS232 cable in the photo. Pretty sure I've exhausted all other options, just hoping I can source this from somewhere.

Thanks

B@rry.

alastairstevenson

Staff member
Reaction score
In my view and experience, the items specified by @bennetton73 are exactly correct.
It's hard to see how the 4-pin 1.5mm pitch connector is far too big.
Hikvision are consistent with the connector type across IP cameras and NVRs.

I'm specifically after the RS232 cable in the photo.