Security Camera setup WITHOUT internet

Gups

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi everyone - My first post! I am very new to all this, so bear with me if my questions sound naive.

I want to set up a few security cameras at my parents' house. The problem is that they only go there for a few weeks at a time and there is no reliable way of getting internet service there

The setup that I envision is this:
  • A bunch of cameras (HD with night vision) set up at various entrance points. They would all be inside, with the lens facing a window which faces the outside. Outdoor cameras, I imagine are more expensive and more of a hassle to set up
  • They would be on all the time
  • We do not need remote viewing capability
  • We only need to be able to view activity through a smartphone on demand when inside the house. For example, if someone is at the door, they would just view the camera stream from their phone to see who it is
I did some reading on this and understand that you could, possibly, connect the cameras to a wireless router WITHOUT an internet connection and then connect your phone to the same wireless network and that should allow you to stream the video while INSIDE the house and connected to the same wireless network. So, as long as all the devices were connected to the same network over a router, you would be able to view the camera from your smartphone.

Is this correct? If so, would any camera work?

I was thinking of getting a couple of these
Amazon.com : Baby Monitor, Super HD 960P Internet WiFi Wireless Network IP Security Surveillance Video Camera System, Pet and Nanny Monitor with Pan and Tilt, Two Way Audio & Night Vision : Camera & Photo

Or these https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01MF5X3TT/ref=wl_it_dp_o_pC_nS_ttl?_encoding=UTF8&colid=15ITL7I3NH6LM&coliid=IUBQAZ0T5L90Q

I am not sure I understand how this would work. If anyone has experience with such a set up, I would really appreciate suggestions and instructions. Thank you all in advance!