Setting up a wifi camera on a network without access to the router

Cam_MJT

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi everybody,

So far, I could not find an answer to my specific problem:

I have a small sailing boat on a Greek island and would like to keep an eye on it using a wifi camera. There is a little taverna nearby who kindly provide the network password to their customers of who I am a regular. My idea is to use this network with a little wifi webcam attached to the mast so I can occassionally check on my boat. Even stills/pics are fine. I am very new to this but after reading up I realised that the camera has to be attached to the router of the specific network at least in the beginning for setup. Is this always compulsory or are there ways around this? I would obviously like to avoid it as it would be awkward to ask them for access to their router. Is there any way to finish the setup via an Android phone only or will the router firewall block my video? Alternatively, could you think of a solution where still pictures are emailed to me regularly or does this not solve the problem?

Any reply is very much appreciated. The boat is in a dangerous spot and has been damaged by choppy sea before. It would help me sleep so much better if I could remotely check up on it.

Many thanks in advance!
Best.

Fastb

Known around here
Reaction score
Cam_MJT,

Welcome to the forum!
You touched on many items and options. Let's break it down.
WiFi cam: In general, they are less dependable than wired. But let's not dig into that.
Camera setup: Your camera must be set up for the network. It must have the password. Usually this is done using a wired connection to a laptop (no WiFi). Configure the camera for the SSID and password.