Setting up driveway/house cams

Duder

n3wb
Reaction score
I'm a camera newb and I currently have a Reolink recording with BlueIris aimed at my driveway since I live a bit off the beaten path. The performance is lackluster. I've been lurking on the forum trying to find a replacement and there are so many options. I am looking for an IP POE camera that has good low light performance and records audio via the network, not a separate cable (if that's a thing). My driveway is about 150ft long although I've only been recording if someone actually enters the driveway, not when every car passes by. I'm willing to spend more money to get better performance although I'm not sure what that range really looks like.
I like the BlueIris setup although long term I may decide to get a device that will just continuously record. I've run the ethernet for 4 more cameras so far but wanted to experiment with 1 or 2 to make sure I'm getting the performance I want before buying the wrong parts.
I have found the IPC-T5442T-ZE mentioned repeatedly as a benchmark so that's where I am currently. Any other models or considerations?

Thanks!

wittaj

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
Sorry you found this forum after going down the Reolink mistake LOL...

BlueIris can be setup to continuously record and based on the experiences of many here, if you go to an NVR, you will be back to BI!

The important thing is to get the right camera for the distance you are covering.

Do you want to IDENTIFY at 150 feet out? If so, the 5442-ZE is the wrong choice. It is a great camera, but the wrong camera for that distance. If you want to IDENTIFY, you will need a 2MP camera like the 5241-Z12E or a powerful PTZ like the 49225.

Take a look at this thread that identifies the most commonly suggested cameras here. These recommendations are based on distance to IDENTIFY and represent the best value in terms of cost, performance day and night, and proper MP/sensor ratios.

Duder

n3wb
Reaction score