Setting up HIKVISION NVR to IPCamera over LAN

TechChickO

n3wb
Reaction score
Greetings everyone.
I am relatively new to the CCTV System business, and I am encountering quiet a snag along the way.

Here it is:
I have a 16 channel NVR - hikvision nvr ds-7732n-e4
and over an assortment of hikvision Ip camera's , e.g. bullet, dome, fish eye, and hey are a mix of indoor and outdoor. All the camera's are suppose to connect to the NVR though UTP cable with POE on each.

BUT - I have more than 16 camera's -( even if i specifically requested a 32 channel nvr I still got sent a 16 chanel one), and the camera's are installed over an array of locations. Which means that some will be over 100m distance from the NVR.
I understand - theoretically - that I can connect the camera's to a poe switch and then connect the switch to the NVR.
ALSO - I have sniffed around on the NVR and there is an option where I can manually add ports, but even if I do that it does not discover the camera's over the switch.

So, What I want to know is how to let the NVR recognize camera's connected to an external switch on the same LAN. Is there a setting or a route I need to add to the switches to pass the connection along?

Any help would be much appreciated.

Chicko~

alastairstevenson

Staff member
Reaction score
That's a 32 channel NVR, with no PoE ports.

So, What I want to know is how to let the NVR recognize camera's connected to an external switch on the same LAN. Is there a setting or a route I need to add to the switches to pass the connection along?
For when the cameras are somewhere on the LAN, connected to a PoE switch (your NVR model number and text suggests the NVR does not have its own PoE ports) :
You need to do nothing more than set known, fixed IP address on the cameras, in the same address range as that of the NVR LAN port, which is presumably in your normal LAN range, and manually add and configure the cameras in the NVR 'Camera configuration' with those IP addresses.