Sheilded connectors

mando209

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
So I bought 1000 ft of ubiquiti toughcable to setup some antennas.i still have a pack of sheilded rj45 connectors.is it ok to use these connectors plus ground them for hikvision poe cams?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

bp2008

Staff member
Reaction score
I've been using shielded + ground connection cables for many of my cams and honestly I've seen no difference between them and regular cables. In theory they reduce the chance of Electrostatic discharge (ESD) causing damage to cameras, but I think that requires the camera and the PoE injection device (typically a PoE switch) to both support grounding through the network cable.

Some devices, and I think this includes Hikvision cams, just use a plastic housing for the RJ45 jack so I'm pretty sure that negates the ESD-preventing effect of using the shielded/metal-sided rj45 connectors. But I'm not an electricity expert so I could be wrong. I just prefer to use shielded cable when I can since in my experience it genuinely does improve reliability of Ubiquiti devices. Ubiquiti Toughcable is good stuff. Just not the most flexible so I use it rarely indoors.

mando209

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
Thanks for the info.im about to connect two hikvision 2120 cams to tp link tl-sf 1008p poe switch.

wcrowder

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
Shielded Twisted Pair is used in situations where you need to protect the signals being corrupted from outside interference. It won't help much for ESD, "Electrical Static Discharge". Making it simple: If you need to pull Network Cable through noisy environments like a factory floor or next/close to high voltage power lines or large electric motors... you use STP, (Shielded Twisted Pair). For normal use you use UTP. (Unshielded twisted Pair). STP is much harder to terminate "correctly" then UTP. And you must be very careful not to damage the jacket. Also STP is usually much much more expensive.