small grocery store setup

Reaction score
Hi,

Newbie here. I've been reading up around this forum and need some advice. I have a small grocery store with CNB Analog cameras, our DVR went out and would like to upgrade to something better. I'm in need of some recommendations for a proper IP camera setup. What all would I need hardware wise to be able to record locally. NVR, PC or a NAS? Also what are some recommended cameras to use around the check-out area and exterior of the store. Thanks in advance and glad to have found a great forum.

blake

Getting comfortable
Reaction score
You have the option of a standard NVR, or run a PC based system using Blue Iris software. For cameras, you want turret domes so that someone cannot tamper with them.A lot of us have been using the Hikvision 2332 turret dome camera. You can get this camera in 2.8 or 4mm. It would help us if you could post pics of the inside of your store so that we can get a better idea of your store layout.

Reaction score
Wow that was a fast reply. Where would you recommend buying them from? The store has 12'-13' ceilings at the check-out area and I forgot to mention that I would like to be able to capture audio in that area since we do wire transfers. I'll take some pictures tomorrow and of current camera locations. Thanks so much for the great help.

Last edited by a moderator:

blake

Getting comfortable
Reaction score
There are three main suppliers stateside. Nelly's Security, Wrighwood Survellience, and member milkisbad who represents LTS. I purchase all of my gear from milkisbad. Me owing my own company, it's in my best interest to get the best support, price point and warranty. Do you have drop ceilings?

Reaction score
Since price point is being considered would you recommend buying from "china" or just buy in the US from nelly's or LTS for the warranty and support. Yes we have 2x4 ceiling tiles throughout.

spyfly81

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score