So many options...

Ainsophaur

n3wb
Reaction score
Greetings. New guy to the forums. Been researching cameras and gear for a long time now. I've been working in film and television post-production for over 10 years now, so I have a pretty good knowledge of the tech.

Now it's just down to picking from the vast array of gear choices.

Setting up eyes on my property. All outdoor with the option to expand to indoor at a later date.

NEEDS:
  • 6 IP cameras
  • Day/Night
  • IR with minimum of 30 meter visibility
  • "Future proof" meaning I'm looking to buy more than what I need in terms of resolution/quality,
  • NVR that's easy to configure
  • Ability to connect to and view/control remotely from computers or phone
Current Contenders:
  • HikVision seems to be very popular. I like their product lineup and NVRs.
  • Dahua also seems to be very popular in this forum as well.
Questions:
  • Would you suggest buying all one brand name so that everything plays nicely together?
  • Which brand do you prefer and why?
Finally, thank you everyone, in advance, for your help and courtesy. I look forward to many exciting conversations.

Uli

zero-degrees

Known around here
Reaction score
Would you suggest buying all one brand name so that everything plays nicely together?
Let's get the easy stuff outta the way first.... YES, match brands. This will assure plug and play, auto detect, any several other settings should work no problem. This will also assure more settings may be controlled seemlessly - for example, some camera adjustments able to be made via NVR vs camera directly. If you mix/match brands you will be limited to the ONVIF stream only and not get any advanced functions (line crossing, motion detection, etc).