'Source file is corrupt' direct to disk mp4 recordings, files play back as a black screen

zak2020

n3wb
Reaction score
I am new to blueiris and used the demo the customise the setup and test recordings, and evrerything seemed to work OK. Got the cameras mounted, they are 4k 8MP Hikvisions, using H265+ (edit to add now have paid full version)

I have motion detection to take jpeg snapshots every 0.5 sec and these are fine, so clearly the image is being captured OK - everything looks normal in the GUI as well, 2x2 layout which shows cameras online and recording. If I try to play a recording from within BI it says 'source file is corrupt'. Host is a virtual Windows 10, 4 vCPU/16GB RAM, using intel HW accelerated decode and running latest version.

Any ideas where to start?

Last edited:

zak2020

n3wb
Reaction score
Recording to AVI works, just not mp4. It did work, the only thing that changed was the new version, and there's another new version today.

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score
Recording to AVI works, just not mp4. It did work, the only thing that changed was the new version, and there's another new version today.
You will have issues recording with H265+ Use H265. Additionally MP4’s have serious limitations and that you can’t view recorded video while The file is still open. It’s also reportedly uses more processing power then bvr. Use bvr.

zak2020

n3wb
Reaction score
Just to be clear, wasn't trying to open the file when it was open, I should have said. I'd set recordings to 1hr and they are around 1.6Gb but BI can't open them and can't open them in other apps.

I actually switched from bvr cos I was getting insane cpu usage. I'll keep trying different settings, it was working before. When you said I'll have issues recording h265+ is that a limitation or a known issue?

Last edited:

jmhmcse

Pulling my weight
Reaction score
Background: