sudden performance problems

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by Lyngtoft, Feb 12, 2019 at 3:15 AM.

Share This Page

  1. Lyngtoft

    Lyngtoft n3wb

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denmark
    HI,

    I have been running BI for some time now and things have been great, only had a few issues with motion detecion (or false/too many detections) - which are my own since I haven't messed around with it enough.

    But yesterday I had a power outage and everything was of course restarted and since then my BI has been really bad.

    Some info:
    I'm running 4 cameras on a Xeon server with 72gb ram - it's running on the "Host" instance, and I know Xeon processors doesn't support hardware acceleration, but again it was working a few days ago..
    I have been through the CPU performance tips and everything was already setup.

    I deleted all old recordings and moved "New" onto primary SSD storage to rule disk performance out. Didn't have any effect.

    This is what happens:
    Logging in to BI on the server it idles around 7-10% CPU
    Capture.PNG

    As soon as I open BI in a browser on another machine, or via my phone this happens:
    Capture2.PNG


    Anyone with any ideas as to what I should look at?
    Opening one video stream basically kills off my server for a few minutes untill CPu is back to around the 5-10%.
     
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2019 at 3:24 AM
  2. Lyngtoft

    Lyngtoft n3wb

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denmark
    Was messing with "Limit decoding unless necessary"
    If I disable this on 3 or all 4 cameras the whole interface goes to it's knees. It took 30 minutes of trying to just disable two cameras, the windows kept resizing and wouldn't load correctly.
    Capture3.PNG
     
  3. SouthernYankee

    SouthernYankee IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2018
    Messages:
    1,055
    Likes Received:
    487
    Location:
    Houston Tx
    Reboot everything, including bi PC, cameras, switches, router. Shutdown everything, then turn on the router and switches, wait for a few minutes, then turn on the cameras, and last the bi PC. Wait for a few minutes. Before looking at the performance.
     
  4. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    28,359
    Likes Received:
    8,058
    Your problem is that your server is way underpowered for your cameras or you're not using direct to disc. We don't know the specs of the server or the cameras. The reason this is happening is because limit decoding works until you log in remotely. When you log in remotely the feeds are decoded. What you need to do is disable streaming of the all cameras group and any other group of cameras you have so that only the camera you are viewing is decoded. Also note that using limit decoding screws up motion detection, it will be unusable for any accurate detection.
     
    bp2008 likes this.
  5. bp2008

    bp2008 Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    7,852
    Likes Received:
    4,568
    It never ceases to amaze me when people claim to have been through everything in the CPU optimization wiki and yet they still have no idea what happened when they run into the Limit decoding pitfall that is described in great detail.
     
    looney2ns likes this.
  6. Lyngtoft

    Lyngtoft n3wb

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denmark
    I have tried rebooting everything without any luck unfortunately.

    Well it's a Xeon E5-2620 with 12 virtual cores and a lot of ram, and again it has been running perfectl for the last many months. And I am of course using direct to disk. For testing now I have also stopped recording.

    Nice comment... I have read it, and been through the suggested settings. My second post was me trying different things to see what had any effect.
     
  7. Lyngtoft

    Lyngtoft n3wb

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denmark
    I'll look into Windows updates, must be something there that caused this...
     
  8. Lyngtoft

    Lyngtoft n3wb

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denmark
    A reinstall of BI fixed it. I'm now again running at full speed. (max 15% CPU when remote viewing)