Suggest Dahua vs Hikvision for home use and cloud upload on motion

Reaction score
I'm new to video surveillance topic. Figured our reading that Reolink is not good. Lorex is a subsidiary of Dahua and for some reason not as good as it.
I have experience running PC 24/7 and I definitely don't want to do that again. Looking for NVR solution with cloud upload upon motion event.

The setup is for my home.
Please suggest some models for the following:
8 channel PoE NVR with:
- upload to cloud on motion event
- mobile app notification
- email notification

I think Hikvision NVR will suite my needs. However I see people here in love with Dahua. What's the pros/cons of Hikvision vs Dahua for my needs?
I'm ok to pay monthly subscription for cloud service. But I found How to setup Hikvision DVR for Google Drive recording - Learn CCTV.com that one can setup hikvision to upload to google drive. Not sure if I'm going to use that as payed cloud subscription brings more peace of mind.
Dahua NVRS seems to geared more toward business/professionals and I can't find any info if it can be configured to upload to cloud storage on motion event.

I've read here people suggest cloud upload is not good. However what stops burglars from taking your local NVR and walking away with all video captured? I think cloud upload on motion is a must have.

Thanks!

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score
I'm new to video surveillance topic. Figured our reading that Reolink is not good. Lorex is a subsidiary of Dahua and for some reason not as good as it.
I have experience running PC 24/7 and I definitely don't want to do that again. Looking for NVR solution with cloud upload upon motion event.

8 channel PoE NVR with:
- email notification

I think Hikvision NVR will suite my needs. However I see people here in love with Dahua. What's the pros/cons of Hikvision vs Dahua for my needs?