surveillance for my church

KenCT

n3wb
Reaction score
Our church has considered adding surveillance for a while now, but after the tragic shooting in Texas the last week, we want to move forward with protecting the safety of the congregation. I’ve been tasked with specifying and purchasing a simple system, but though I live in the world of tech, I'm new to video surveillance. I’ve spent about 2 solid days reading, researching, etc. but my head is still spinning a bit. I believe I’ve narrowed down choices to either dahua or hikvision, but I could use a little advice.

Here are the details.

Our Facility:
Attached are photos that show the property and where we plan to place exterior cameras.

security-cam-overview.jpgsecurity-cam-sideview.jpgsecurity-cam-frontview.jpg

A - front entrance. We’d like to place a high-resolution (5MP+), wide-angle camera here, mounted under the eve. Perhaps if it’s shielded enough from the sun, we could use a low-profile wedge dome, so the camera is less conspicuous. The primary purpose would be for our security guy to monitor any approach to the front door during church services. We’d like him to be able to view the feed on an iPad.

B - side entrance. Here we were thinking of another high-res bullet camera pointing towards the parking lot.

C - lower back entrance. These doors can not normally open from the outside, but this area is very secluded and dark at night. We thought this area would be a good candidate for the IPC-HDW5231R-Z because of it’s excellent low-light performance.

Desired Capabilities:
Primary objective is to be able to monitor the property while the building is occupied during church services. Our security guy MUST be able to monitor camera feeds from an iPad or other tablet.