Swann NVR8-7200 to Hikvision 3.4 firmware

Discussion in 'Hikvision' started by DTEL, Jul 13, 2016.

Share This Page

  1. DTEL

    DTEL n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I successfully upgraded the firmware on the Swann NVR8-7200. Thanks to knowledge and tips from this forum. Also upgraded the Swann cameras 2xx2 with 5.4 successfully.
    The only issue after the NVR upgrade was inability to input DDNS of the original Swanndvr.net. This was easily accomplished using the Swann Plus software which saved it to NVR.
    The NVR config does not display the fields but the DDNS works fine. I used the Swann NVR config menu to upgrade from USB flash drive this NVR uses a digicap.mav file downloaded
    from Hikvision Europe FTP. Many thanks to DemonicHawk.
     
  2. moof

    moof n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did you find the firmware upgrade improved anything for you? I would like to know if there is any benefit in me going through the firmware upgrade process on the 7200. Mine is at v.2.2.3 Build 130113
     
  3. DTEL

    DTEL n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Upgraded security and many other features, now can connect many other newer ipcams to avail of advanced functions. Have not explored all new features yet. The Hik remote client interface is definitely better for mobile and even PC.
    Important if using Swann ipcam you need to update firmware too, this may need to be done without NVR, will not detect after upgrade. The POE ip changes cannot communicate.
    Please read up how-to before attempting anything. If goes wrong can be recovered but needs technical expertise to follow procedure.
     
  4. Radant59

    Radant59 n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just tried to update mine using Swann Plus, and get an upgrade failed everytime. I tried the 3.4 firmware and the newer 3.6 as well. Did you use Swan Plus or Tftp? Noticed you upgraded using USB. I get a Firmware Mismatch when I try that.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 24, 2016
  5. DTEL

    DTEL n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    "Mismatch" is the wrong file. Mine was digicap.mav file, upgraded from USB using NVR menu. I think you need to go to the lowest 3.xx firmware first. Then incremental to successive higher. 3.2, 3.3, 3.4.
     
  6. Radant59

    Radant59 n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Will try it again. I see they are all the way at 3.6 now.
     
  7. davlarso

    davlarso n3wb

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Which file from the Europe download site did you use? The swann firmware for the NVR8-7200 takes digicap.mav files, but builds in the DS-7600NI-E1(E2) 7700NI-E4/ directory on their FTP site seem to be digicap.dav files.
     
  8. DTEL

    DTEL n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
  9. funkadelic

    funkadelic n3wb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    2
    I was finally able to upgrade my Costco purchased Swann NVR8-7200 to Hikvision firmware. I had been trying all the DS-7608NI-E2/8P/A firmware files, which always failed, but tried the "DS-76&77&86&85&96-ST -SP -XT-RT" files that @DTEL stated in the last post, and it worked! FWIW, i did all the firmware updates via iVMS-4200 (i don't have a monitor connected to the NVR)

    I upgraded incrementally one by one, and at some point I got locked out of my NVR after an update, which I think was because of a weak admin password (the later firmwares enforced more stringent password strength), but a call to Swann support and providing my serial + start time got me the unlock code and I was good to go again. Once I got the NVR up to 3.4.2, I then went to update my Swann rebranded DS-2CD3032-I cameras with the firmware from here and have them all running 5.4.0.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 5, 2016
    GBot likes this.
  10. ri3eboi

    ri3eboi n3wb

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I upgraded directly to V3.4.3_160811 because that's the earliest version on the site now and now I am locked out. The upgrade worked and the NVR8-7200 boots up just fine. However it is asking to reset the admin password, except it won't take any of my previous passwords as the Old password.

    Because of what funkadelic mentioned, I actually upgraded my NVR8-7200's admin password to a more secure version prior to the upgrade.

    Anyone know what the Old password would be in this case? I tried everything possible: previous admin password, admin, 12345, mac address of my NVR8-7200 to no avail :(

    Any help is much appreciated!
     
  11. DTEL

    DTEL n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Click on this link : Hikvision Password Reset Tool
    enter the serial no. as displayed in SADP do not include the beginning model "NVR8-7200" it should be "1620130913BBRR*********WCVU"
    enter the year, month, date as displayed in SADP as start time. Most likely current date.
    Click on the field where is says "password reset code" write down the code.
    Go the NVR double click on bottom left corner of the login window. Enter the code in empty field click enter on OSD keyboard and then "OK"
    You're done enter new password .
     
  12. NVStrive

    NVStrive n3wb

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Australia
    Hi Guys
    So I recently got around this password thing
    Not sure if it would work for everyone but this is the story and below that, what I did

    <:——story——:>
    NVR8-7200
    using the Swann software on Win10 PC through an unmanaged switch
    flashed it with Hikvision 3.4.4 straight from the Swann FW, I did not do incrimental flashes...
    Got hit with the “new password” message and it would not accept ANYTHING
    I spent an hour on the phone with Swann and also Hikvision trying to reset the password Also tried the Hik reset tool as described by Dtel and others - no joy
    <:——action——:>
    I jumped onto the NVR directly, screen plugged it and using a mouse
    Pressed cancel on the “new password” box
    This then presents a blank black screen or you may see empty camera spots...
    Right clicked to bring up menu
    Went into Users
    There was like 20+ random user names in there all hashed out with boxes, like it couldn’t read the text
    I deleted all of them except one
    Then I clicked add user, set it to operator and inserted my own Password and user name
    To my surprise, it accepted that
    Then I deleted the last random user, which left me with only my newly created user....
    #^#^*Viola*^#^#
    I can now use it as per normal
    No TFTP, No rollback of FW, none of that

    I hope this helps someone else
     
    ri3eboi likes this.
  13. ri3eboi

    ri3eboi n3wb

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    @NVStrive, thanks for sharing. One quick question, after you added your own user and password, did this user have all the admin/operator privileges prior to deleting the random users?

    Brief update on my situation, it is very similar to what @NVStrive described, except the user I created didn't have admin privileges (couldn't access all the options in the menu), however I didn't delete all the random users. I have since moved away from the NVR and went for a Blue Iris setup using an retired home server box and it has been great.
     
  14. NVStrive

    NVStrive n3wb

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Australia
    No worries
    Yes the new user i created has Admin/Operator Privileges
    This user is completely new, was not on the system before

    Prior to creating this user, i had deleted all of the random Users bar one.
    the last one i deleted after creating my own user

    I hope that makes sense ???