Tips on lowering CPU usage

Discussion in 'Blue Iris' started by razorseal, Dec 31, 2018.

Share This Page

  1. razorseal

    razorseal Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    6
    Hey guys,

    I bought a TS140 in 2015 and it had been working fine for me for a while. about a year ago, I noticed I have been using like 90% constantly on the CPU just to keep it running (no recording or anything).

    I'm having a hard time trying to figure out what's going on... I would gladly take some advice.

    I get alot of rainbow artifacts when recording now too because I think the CPU is always so pegged, it just can't keep up with recording.

    I have 4 1080 hikvision cameras (3 hardwired, 1 wifi). I have 2 more cameras that are currently disabled (1 hardwired 1080 hikvision and 1 720 wifi).

    They are all at 15fps.

    Not sure where to start, so tell me what should be checked, or unchecked.

    I was running it on a 4K 55" TV. I changed it to 1080, but it didn't change anything.

    I was also thinking about ordering a Nvidia 750 gfx card, hoping it would help. Do you think it will?
     
  2. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    30,570
    Likes Received:
    9,587
    see the wiki, you have not setup blue iris correctly.
    You dont state the processor, but they typical ts140 came with an xeon that is equivalent to haswell i5. Your load should be 15-20 percent max.
     
    DLONG2 likes this.
  3. razorseal

    razorseal Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    6

    You're right, I forgot. it came with an i3 and the xeon. Mine is the Xeon

    I went through the help files and didn't find "performance tweaking" post.

    I did find couple posts here after I posted this that helped. I limited decoing unless required on 2 cameras and brought FPS from 15 to 10. Seems to have helped alot, and brought me from 90%-99% to 20%-30%

    I'll check the wiki now.

    Thanks!
     
  4. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    30,570
    Likes Received:
    9,587
    Don't use limit decoding it will screw up the motion detection. Using direct to disc Hardware acceleration you should be in the 20% range Max.
     
    Mike likes this.
  5. razorseal

    razorseal Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    6
    Alright, I did all the suggestions (most was already in place) and it looks like things are running smoother now. Dropping FPS from 15 to 10 made the biggest difference.

    I shut off limit decoding (I can tell it was moving very slowly with it on) you like suggested.

    Blue Iris is at ~20% now with the service also running at ~14%.

    I think that's manageable.
     
    Q™ likes this.
  6. razorseal

    razorseal Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    6
    Is it necessary for ANY reason to have the GUI running along with the service?

    To be honest, most of the time, I just access it from my phone, or another computer. Not very often do I need it where I need to be watching my screens.
     
    Q™ likes this.
  7. aristobrat

    aristobrat IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2016
    Messages:
    2,128
    Likes Received:
    1,837
    I have mine set to run as a service and I close the GUI when I’m done. Like you, most of my access is from the phone app!
     
    Q™ likes this.
  8. razorseal

    razorseal Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    6
    Does everything like it should though? (motion triggers etc)
     
  9. aristobrat

    aristobrat IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2016
    Messages:
    2,128
    Likes Received:
    1,837
  10. Jiles111

    Jiles111 n3wb

    Joined:
    May 11, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I run mine as a service as well. Yes everything works like normal. You will even see the CPU usage drop if you close down the console.
     
  11. Parley

    Parley Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2015
    Messages:
    977
    Likes Received:
    459
    Location:
    Cypress, California
    I just changed my desktop computer that was running 75 to 100% CPU time to an Intel NUC I8 that is now running 1-4% CPU time. I cannot believe the difference. :)
     
  12. razorseal

    razorseal Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    6
    Nice! Are those the little tiny computers? The 8th gens are great. My gaming rig has one. I'm at like 30% now with GUI off and accessing via app or browser, I'll live with that.