TPLINK Router. ...TPLINNK IP cam TL-SC3171G - CONNECTIVITY

Discussion in 'Chit-Chat' started by ferocious, Aug 18, 2018.

Share This Page

  1. ferocious

    ferocious n3wb

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pakistan
    Dear all,

    FIrst of all, let me tell you am not an IT expert at all.

    i have TPLINK router at my home. i purchased a TPLINK IP CAMERA for survillance.

    on Lan camera is perfectly fine. I have done the virtual server settings to check cam through online.. works well.

    I live in a country whrere, electricity load shedding is there. so due to that most of the time router IP changes and i am unable to remotely access my cam via internet as router WAN changes..

    how can i resolve this issue.

    P.S i have bought this TPLINK camera because of price from ali express, and i dont know much about gadgets.
     
  2. Zorac

    Zorac Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2015
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    20
    there should be a ddns option in the router that will let you use a address rather than an ip. then you router will update that address every time your ip changes.
     
  3. ferocious

    ferocious n3wb

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pakistan
    YES I HAVE TRIED BUT UNABLE TO D0 IT...
     
  4. ferocious

    ferocious n3wb

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pakistan
    Dynamic DNS oprion is there but what this domain name thing is ??? its rocket science to me going to noip.com and all...
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1.png
      1.png
      File size:
      197.4 KB
      Views:
      6
  5. ferocious

    ferocious n3wb

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pakistan
    i have registered on noip.com, and its becoming rocket science for me as m going deeper and deeper
     
  6. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    25,958
    Likes Received:
    6,620
    that camera is old garbage, you got ripped off if you purchased it in the last 6 years. it belongs in the trash...
    the solution for the ip change is the ddns service as noted...get someone to help you.
     
  7. ferocious

    ferocious n3wb

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pakistan
    thanks for your suggestion,,... i havnt asked about the camera... i just asked to resoolve router IP cnaging issue...

    i know its an obselete one... but working perfect.... problem isnt wioth the camrea.... problem is router ip changes when it turned off..
     
  8. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    25,958
    Likes Received:
    6,620
    I know what you asked about, Im telling you for your own good...Its complete GARBAGE. also it appears that you are foolishly port forwarding the camera, you will be hacked.
    Zorac told you the solution for your ip changes. Do it.
     
  9. ferocious

    ferocious n3wb

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pakistan
  10. Zorac

    Zorac Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2015
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    20
    that's exactly what you need to setup, fill out the boxes with your account info and enable the option with the checkbox and you should be able to access through your noip address. I used noip ages ago, i remember something about having to renew my account every month or two with the free account to keep it working (which is why i left). perhaps your account has expired or gone inactive? im using afraid.org now.
     
  11. ferocious

    ferocious n3wb

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pakistan
    Zorac thanks for the reply...
     
  12. ferocious

    ferocious n3wb

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pakistan

    Issue is resolved now.. let me tell you what i did..

    i have done nothing with the router....

    just registered my self at noip.com and get a hostname, than i pasted that settings into camera Ddns .... and its workout well..
     
  13. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    25,958
    Likes Received:
    6,620
    idiotic...you will get hacked.
     
    ferocious likes this.
  14. Zorac

    Zorac Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2015
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    20
    right on, good you worked it out
     
    ferocious likes this.
  15. ferocious

    ferocious n3wb

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pakistan

    The screenshot i sent you was of router settings, i did nothing with that...

    i went into IP cam Dynamic Dns settings and pasted the information i got by registering noip.com..

    it worked out .. now live..... :)))
     
  16. ferocious

    ferocious n3wb

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pakistan

    I respect you as a senior member, please explain how will i get hacked ???
     
  17. ferocious

    ferocious n3wb

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pakistan

    afaraid.org i just signedup, reading how to configure ddns to my cam :))) thanks again ZOrac
     
  18. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    25,958
    Likes Received:
    6,620
    lol, read the forum...you have now exposed a camera full of vulnerabilities to the internet...think a bit...
     
  19. ferocious

    ferocious n3wb

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pakistan

    fenderman, what u mean by exposed a camera to the internet ????? pls elaborate....
    its passowrd protected with different port... how can its exposed ??
     
  20. Zorac

    Zorac Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2015
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    20
    basically anyone can log into these cameras once you give them access to the internet. assume anyone can view your camera once you have the port forwarded. granted they have to find your ip first, but someone is always scanning ips looking for something like this.

    TP-Link IP Camera Hardcoded Credentials / Command Injection ≈ Packet Storm
     
  21. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    25,958
    Likes Received:
    6,620
    the password is useless....READ. Search the forum.
     
  22. ferocious

    ferocious n3wb

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pakistan
    ok... than what is the better option... ill throw it into garbage and than ??? what next ??
     
  23. ferocious

    ferocious n3wb

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pakistan
    guys i told u am not an IT expert.... how can my cam will be hacked...
     
  24. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    25,958
    Likes Received:
    6,620
    you want step by step instructions? stop already and use a vpn. Then replace the camera so you get a decent image...that camera is junk
     
  25. ferocious

    ferocious n3wb

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pakistan

    VPN... bro i wants to watch my backyard cam online.. thats it...
    i just have a router at my home and i connected the said camera to it... how can i add a VPN i dont use any server or watever...
     
  26. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    25,958
    Likes Received:
    6,620
    bro, stop being a lazy fuck. If you search the forum as told you will find that once your camera is compromised so is your entire network? Nothing private on your network. dont use it for private emails or banking? dont mind if your cam is used as a botnet?
    READ THE FORUM. All this is discussed as well as how to setup a vpn.
     
  27. ferocious

    ferocious n3wb

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pakistan
    vpn on a router ????
     
  28. ferocious

    ferocious n3wb

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pakistan
    fenderman, dear if u have any link pls share...
     
  29. ferocious

    ferocious n3wb

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pakistan
    i have cable internet connection on my home.. that works with a router...

    that wifi router i used to connect my TV watching netflix
    all cell phones
    laptops and all...
    now i fixed this ip cam with it...

    so everything is in danger now ????