Trigger when lights turn on?

TheShanMan

n3wb
Reaction score
I'm fairly new to BI and am slowly working on a camera setup. I have one camera in an outbuilding on my property, and I'm trying to get it to trigger when someone enters, turns on the light, and walks in, but it doesn't. It seems to trigger just fine when later walking around the room though. I thought turning off "reset detector when object size exceeds" might get it working since it references lighting changes. I'm wondering if the transition from dark to light and particularly, the IR shutting off is getting in the way of detection/triggering maybe? Or is there a setting I haven't found or don't understand?

TheShanMan

n3wb
Reaction score
With a little more testing, I believe it's major lighting changes that is sometimes getting in the way of detection. Is there a way to trigger on major lighting changes even without movement? I get the sense that if going from pitch dark to full brightness (light switch) could in and of itself cause a trigger, I wouldn't get a missed trigger. But I don't see that really as an option. Maybe I should submit a feature request for Blue Iris?

DarkHelmet

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
youll probably need to at least uncheck "object travels" and "object size exceeds" or maybe turn off object detection altogether. can also clone the camera if you still want to use motion zones and such.

sebastiantombs

Known around here
Reaction score
What kind of camera? If it has built in features like IVS, in Dahua, or other motion detection capabilities you can use the ONVIF event to trigger BI.

If it does have that ability, create a clone of the camera and give it a try for testing purposes.

The Automation Guy

Known around here
Reaction score
Is there a contrast setting on the detection module? (I'm not where I can look at my system).