Triggered vs Triggered+Periodic

acat

n3wb
Reaction score
I'm new to Blue Iris and have been reading the manual and experimenting. I thought I understood the dialog box for Triggering, Triggering + Periodic etc., but the more I read and experiment, the less I'm certain...

So what I would LIKE to do is construct a time lapse in which a normal speed playback occurs following a trigger event. Therefore I am using the "Triggered+Periodic" feature in the dialog box within CAM Name>Record>Video. Then I use "Combine & Cut" to construct the video.There are two dialog boxes to the right with "min. for" separating them.

So right or wrong I have taken that to mean the period and duration as read from left to right. I want to take a picture every minute for zero seconds (a snapshot) except for when the action has triggered (set the min duration time to 1/2 second) However, it occurs to me this only works if there is a sustained movement. There is no way to run a trigger for a minimum time, such as 5 or ten seconds. So if a deer in the photo stops moving, it will instantly disappear, no? At least until the next minute interval.

So is there a way to specify a minimum record time for a trigger yet still take a still image (only) every minute to assemble a Video? What are the true meaning of the two dialog boxes left to right?

Now if you playback the video on the horizontal timeline you see all the intervals at the minimum time it seems, but if you play the assembled video (vertical to right of screen) you get the timlapse with the correct triggered intervals displayed.

Last edited:

acat

n3wb
Reaction score
Sorry to reply to my own question, but here is more information on the issue.