Trying to connect on my Android tablet and having a bit of of trouble

Discussion in 'Android' started by Normex, Nov 12, 2017.

Share This Page

  1. Normex

    Normex n3wb

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    2
    I have downloaded and paid for the app and the main screen shows Server Login on top left
    in the middle it shows New Server and below has a connect icon and just below again an Edit button.

    when I press edit I see all the correct inputed info such as Lan,Wan
    and username and pw.

    Now when I try to connect I get a message that username and pw don't match
    I see the username and password exactly as on my PC. What gives?

    Thanking you in advance.

    Norm
     
  2. Normex

    Normex n3wb

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    2
    I have pressed on forget the server and reinputed all info on a new server and this time when I press connect
    it just comes back to Connect again even after many tries. ??
     
  3. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    20,673
    Likes Received:
    4,430
    the username and password are set in blue iris options>users...its not the username and password of the pc running blue iris
     
  4. Normex

    Normex n3wb

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    2
    Many thanks fenderman on this fine Sunday
    connected right away

    Regards,

    Norm
     
    fenderman likes this.
  5. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    20,673
    Likes Received:
    4,430
    enjoy...also note you can have multiple users and limit users to certain groups of cams/schedule/etc...
     
    drunkpenguin likes this.
  6. drunkpenguin

    drunkpenguin Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2017
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    241
    Fenderman makes a good point, make a limited user for your remote logins instead of using the admin account. If I recall the admin account can be setup to local login only to help prevent outsiders from finding their way in.
     
    Normex likes this.
  7. Normex

    Normex n3wb

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    2
    I agree with both of you and while I'm trying to explore I have yet to find where to add a user or a user control menu.
    Call me daft I'm fairly new to the Android scene and cameras for that matter.

    Many thanks,
     
  8. drunkpenguin

    drunkpenguin Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2017
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    241
    You create the users on the blue iris server. Then on the android device use that user as its login.
     
  9. Normex

    Normex n3wb

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    2
    Oh wow that saved me a lot of time as I was tearing at each choices on the tablet ...Many thanks