UPS PROTECTION

Tyyees

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
A question about protecting a network from power problems. Would a UPS protect a network from power surges, lightening, generators used with power failures etc.? Can equipment connected via an Ethernet cable be protected by the use of an Ethernet surge protector? Any suggestions on protecting a network from such problems? Thanks

toastie

Getting comfortable
Reaction score
Tyyees, I expect you're as disappointed as I am that you haven't received a reply to your thread.
Is nobody on ipcamtalk using a UPS and able to share their experiences here?

Mike

Staff member
Reaction score
Tyyees, I expect you're as disappointed as I am that you haven't received a reply to your thread.
Is nobody on ipcamtalk using a UPS and able to share their experiences here?
Correct, none of us are using a UPS......:smash:

A lot of us use UPS's and I personally have the a CyberPower 1500 which I've been using for 6 years without issues. I recommend it for any BI comp, NVR, router, modem, etc.

As an Amazon Associate IPCamTalk earns from qualifying purchases.

SouthernYankee

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
I use multiple ups. On ups
Router
Bi PC
All switches.

So all cameras are on ups.

A ups will NOT protect against a near lightning hit. I have had a near lighting hit. It killed all items the house that had wires going into them, camera,.phone system, stero system, alarm system, some light bulbs. Not killed washer, dryer, refrigerator.

NoloC

Getting comfortable
Reaction score
I have a couple CyberPower and agree they are a pretty good choice.