[URGENT] Setup for 5 cameras : please help me plan for this!

2JZGTE

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi all,

First of all I'm a total noob to all this and new to the forums, so please bear with me. The house is completely gutted so it's the perfect time to do the wiring. I need to solve this before the weekend because we will be closing walls then!
With the help of a professional I wired the whole house with Cat6, including wiring for 5 cameras (4 outside, 1 in garage). The house is a perfect 40' x 40' square and the cameras will be on each corner.

He suggested the following setup :
DVR with 4 ports to save money (8 ports are more expensive). He suggested Provision brand.
4 x cat6 cables for the 4 cameras outside running to the DVR
1 x cat6 + 1 power cable for the camera in the garage, the cat6 running to my 24-port switch (which will be used for the house network)
He says the DVR will "find the 5th camera on the network"

(see attachment for diagram)

However I'd rather use a 6 or 8 port DVR and run my 5 cables to it, to simplify things. I feel like the 5th camera in the switch would be a headache, but I could be wrong... My other option I guess is an NVR with a POE switch? I'm even contemplating a Costco kit. I'd like it to be as turnkey/simple as possible. I'm knowledgeable with computers (built my own), but I can't say I know enough about networking to set everything up on my own.

What do you guys think?
Thanks!

Attachments

nayr

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
a 4ch NVR w/4 Ports can only take 4 cameras even if you wire up 100 ports.. you need an 8ch NVR if you want to run 5-8 cameras period.. never heard of Provision, check out a Dahua NVR and several Dahua Starlight Varifocal Turret (IPC-HDW5231R-Z)

you might consider running two wires to each corner, often having back to back cameras looking down both sides with overlap is desirable.. sounds like your going for a as few useless wide angle cameras as you can get away with.. generally gonna yield poor results.