Using IP Webcam with Blue Iris

Zeke431

n3wb
Reaction score
Hello,

Several of my IP cameras are old Android phones. I use IP Webcam to make the phones into dedicated cameras. I am able to view these cameras locally and remotely. Unfortunately, I can't find the right settings to make them work in Blue Iris.

Any suggestions are welcome.

Thanks.

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score
Welcome to the forum..
Set it to the generic MPEG and use /videofeed as the path.

bp2008

Staff member
Reaction score
Last I checked I think IP Webcam only does jpeg/mjpeg video. I hope I am wrong because MPEG is way better. Still nothing compared to h264 of course.

rruiz

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
Another question moreless similar.

I have an IP camera Vivotek PD8136 . It is connected trough internet.
It wasn´t possible to find the driver for this camera. The one that let me have signal was another similar Vivotek RTSP / HTTP

Since I am a beginner, let me ask these questions:
+ since it is an IP cam, the video quality use to be as bad as I have ?
+ Can I improve the video quality playing with some other parameters?

Thanks

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score
Another question moreless similar.

I have an IP camera Vivotek PD8136 . It is connected trough internet.
It was possible to find the driver for this camera. The one that let me have signal was another similar Vivotek RTSP / HTTP

Since I am a beginner, let me ask these questions:
+ since it is an IP cam, the video quality use to be as bad as I have ?

Can I improve the video quality playing with some other parameters?
This is a different question than the original..the OP wanted to use a cell phone as an ip camera...
For your situation Vivotek RTSP is the correct choice from the drop down...
The camera is 1mp so you should be getting an OK image...the fact that a camera is IP has no bearing as to whether it will produce a good image.
What is the problem you are having? Post an image of what you are seeing..