Video Playback now has a "glitch" every one sec

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by Rickalo, Nov 10, 2018 at 10:09 AM.

Share This Page

  1. Rickalo

    Rickalo n3wb

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    In the last couple days, when I play recorded clips (from triggered motion), the video has like a "hiccup" every second, where the video goes slightly blurry, and then back to normal.

    Cannot figure out why suddenly it is doing this...Suggestions? I can send a clip for reference if someone can guide me on how to post clip on here...

    Thank you..
     
  2. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    26,767
    Likes Received:
    7,036
    This is likely coming from the camera itself not blue iris. Post the video to YouTube and post a link.
     
  3. Rickalo

    Rickalo n3wb

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good Idea....

    Seems weird that ALL 8 of my cameras, which had been displaying fine on BI for the last 2 years would suddenly start having this "glitch"... I've attached a clip for reference...
     
  4. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    26,767
    Likes Received:
    7,036
    what have you changed?
    is this only in the recorded video or live? what type of cameras are these?
     
  5. Rickalo

    Rickalo n3wb

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    only recorded (from motion sensing trigger)... live is fine
     
  6. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    26,767
    Likes Received:
    7,036
    are you recording direct to disk? or reencoding.
    again, what have you changed?
    what cameras?
     
  7. Rickalo

    Rickalo n3wb

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nothing has changed regarding hardware... I did play around with the "settings - Other", but that's it...... here's a screen grab of my "other" settings..
     

    Attached Files:

  8. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    26,767
    Likes Received:
    7,036
    please answer all questions or we will go in circles.
     
    bp2008 likes this.
  9. bp2008

    bp2008 Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    7,485
    Likes Received:
    4,035
    The only way this happens in recordings but not in live view is if BI is re-encoding the video. With a short keyframe interval and insufficient bit rate.
     
    fenderman likes this.
  10. Rickalo

    Rickalo n3wb

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK... let me try again...
    • no new equipment,
    • no changes other than "Settings-Other",
    • Live feed is fine.
    • Clips that show on the main display panel, show this glitch when I double click on them to view. So do MP4 clips that are created from the captured clips using the "Convert/Export" function in Blue Iris.
    • Cameras are : 2-DLink, 5 Foscam, and 1 Amcrest (All have been operational for 2+ years with no issues)
    Did I forget anything?
     
  11. Rickalo

    Rickalo n3wb

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Where would I find settings for this in BI? I'll go see what I have for settings..
     
  12. Rickalo

    Rickalo n3wb

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Looked at my camera "record" settings and all are marked Re-encode with settings - Encoder: H2640H.264/Mpeg-4 VC.

    I don't recall ever setting that... assumed it was the default install config.
     
  13. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    26,767
    Likes Received:
    7,036
    you didnt update BI?
    if so reboot everything, cameras routers, switches.
    direct to dis is in the record tab.
     
  14. Rickalo

    Rickalo n3wb

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    every update that I receive for BI is installed..
     
  15. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    26,767
    Likes Received:
    7,036
    disable auto update...it is foolish to leave it on.
     
  16. Rickalo

    Rickalo n3wb

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have reset one of the camera's record settings to "Direct to Disk", restarted BI, and went and "triggered"camera.... no more glitch... I will update all my cams with this change.

    Thank you for your prompt replies and expertise!
     
  17. Rickalo

    Rickalo n3wb

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    not sure I understand why I wouldn't want to "auto-update"...
     
  18. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    26,767
    Likes Received:
    7,036
    because some updates are faulty...you want to manually download and install updates after they have been out for a while..this will also allow you to have old update files stored on your pc to revert back if needed. Simple common sense. This is applicable to every piece of software no just blue iris.
     
    aristobrat likes this.
  19. Rickalo

    Rickalo n3wb

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    makes sense... I just assumed that they would not release if not stable and correct. I am retired from Managing CAD systems for our company, and we could not release anything until it had be reliability demonstrated by test users...
     
  20. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    26,767
    Likes Received:
    7,036
    There are millions of permutations between cameras and systems. It is impossible to do, even for large corporations like Microsoft. Considering that bluer is developed by a single person....
    Blue iris adds features every few weeks. I would rather have that then wait a year like most slow corporations. All you need to do is disable it and use common sense. This is a preferable solution.
     
  21. Rickalo

    Rickalo n3wb

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks.... BI is the only solution that I have found that lets me, as a home user, set up monitoring of multiple security cams (in my case 8) at my house, without paying a fortune for a "business type" application.
     
  22. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    26,767
    Likes Received:
    7,036
    Yes. That is my point. There is nothing wrong with the way he provides updates. Its is PREFERABLE over stodgy corporate testing that still has issues upon release because its impossible to test every scenario. With blue iris YOU have all the control. The way it should be. This allows him to provides great feature updates frequently. This is how it SHOULD be.
     
    SouthernYankee likes this.