Video security system diagram

tibimakai

Known around here
Reaction score
I'm in the beginning phase, of building my system and I'm a beginner as well.
I already have a POE+ switch, a couple of cameras and a PC, with BI.
I need to run wires throughout of my house, but I'm a bit confused on what should connect to what and what should I avoid doing?
Any help, would be appreciated.

Tibor

giomania

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
Direct runs from all camera locations to a central “data closet” location in your house. For camera placement advice, see the first couple pages of the cliff notes link in my signature

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

mat200

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
I'm in the beginning phase, of building my system and I'm a beginner as well.
I already have a POE+ switch, a couple of cameras and a PC, with BI.
I need to run wires throughout of my house, but I'm a bit confused on what should connect to what and what should I avoid doing?
Any help, would be appreciated.

Tibor
Hi Tibor,

Check out the notes and let us know if it makes sense to you and please ask if something is not clear enough in the notes.

In general, run N+1+ cables to each location, where N=number of devices you want to bring cat5e/cat6 line to. Leave a bit of extra slack on the cable on both ends, just in case you need to adjust placement a little. Have someone help you with the pulls to avoid kinks in the cable. Do not run cables next to or along romex / NM electrical wiring. ( OK if the electrical is in EMT conduit, that will shield it ). Do not run cat5e/cat6 cables next to motors / florescent lighting. Do not over squeeze cable with tie downs ( like zip ties )... it's not hard, just remember the wires are a lot thinner than 12-3 electrical wiring so you have to take more care with the cable to prevent breakage.

tibimakai

Known around here
Reaction score