[videos] [install] LOREX (Dahua) LNR6826K 4K System from Costo

CPO

n3wb
Reaction score
I just bought my first IP Camera system and will be installing it within the next few weeks. I've never done this before, so I am learning as I go. I've spent a lot of time researching and learning (which is my MO) and found myself here on ipcamtalk a lot. I figured this was the perfect place to document this journey in hopes that it is helpful for others (and to be selfish, helpful for me).

I posted my first video for this install:

I don't expect to make an exhaustive step-by-step howto, since everyone's situation is going to be different, but I do plan on showing how I am doing things, why, and any little tips and tricks I learn along the way (which I'll likely learn from you guys! lol).

I'm sure I'll have some questions...but for now, I am waiting on parts to arrive.

I have the camera system, obviously, but I also ordered the following:

* 6x Lorex junction boxes - so that I can conceal and protect the wiring connectors, and it should allow me to run cables without ever needing a hole larger in diameter than the CAT 5e cable. I don't have to stuff/hide/shove the bulky stuff anywhere since it will all roll up into the junction box. They were $25 each, but taking advantage of the Black Friday 25% off code, it ended up being only $120 shipped for 6 of them. It was free shipping, but I did have to pay tax. Boo!
(Outdoor Junction Box for 4 Screw Base Cameras)

* 1000FT Cat5e Bulk Bare Copper Ethernet Network Cable UTP, Solid, Riser Rated (CMR), 350MHz, 24AWG, White - I got this from Monoprice, but after shipping charges, it ends up being $80, which is the same as ordering from Amazon or probably other places. I decided to go CAT 5e simply because it should be easier to work with and I couldn't find anything super compelling that convinced me it was worth spending the extra money to upgrade to Cat6.
(http://amzn.to/2A9blW7)