View IP cams without internet on LAN

BamBam33

n3wb
Reaction score
I am new to security systems. I acquired 8 Lorex 4mp IP PoE cams and no NVR. I borrowed a Lorex NVR to play around with to see if i liked it enough to buy one to complete my system, but was unimpressed with it. My biggest beef was not being able to use the native android app to view the cams in my LAN. I live back in the woods you see, my woman and the kids and the dogs and me...and no Internet...i am trying to view the cams with the app over my LAN, but apparently cant do that without Internet, as far as i can figure anyway. Am i missing something? I can view with a 3rd party app, but i want the native app to work.

If i cant see them via LAN, then what other NVR would allow this and work with the Lorex cams? Dahua? My goal is to be able to view/record/play back the 2k resolution via true LAN (with no external Internet connection) as budget effecient as possible. I do not have a desktop good enough for blue iris either...just plain poor i guess. But poor or not, i wanna ID anyone who may steal from me so i can introduce myself to them first hand :)

I have searched this forum for an ans to my questions but cant find it if its there...so my appologies if this has been answered somewhere.

tangent

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
TinyCam Pro may work better than the lorex app. The gDMSS app would probably work too (Dahua makes Lorex).

You can buy a refurbished computer capable of running blue iris or other VMS for as little as $150-300

BamBam33

n3wb
Reaction score