VPN and push notifications

Taichou

n3wb
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I am completely new to the topic with ip cameras and network configuration. So please don`t burn me :)

I have ordered 2 dahua cameras I want to install at my home. I have a synology nas (218+) where i want to use the surveillance system to control the cameras. Otherwise I could use Dahua software, which would be a cloud solution (not a fan of that)?

What would you prefer (Blue Iris is not an option at this moment)?

Another question is about VPN and push notifications. How do you get push notifications in case of motion detection when using VPN? I want to have access to my cameras from my smartphone and likely use an app to monitor and get push notifications?

Hope someone will help :)

aristobrat

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
I started with Surveillance Station a few years back. It "worked" with basic features of my Dahua cameras, but motion detection was a big struggle because SS could not use the advanced motion detection features built into the Dahua cameras (called IVS). SS could only use basic motion detection which was either too sensitive (i.e. way too many false alerts) or not sensitive enough (i.e. no alerts when real motion happened). After reading a lot of threads here, I ended up switching to a Dahua NVR. That solved almost all of my motion detection wants, but it was a dead end when trying to integrate the cameras into my home automation system (i.e. if an outside camera detects motion after dark, turn on some outside lights for five minutes). Ultimately I landed on Blue Iris <something I *swore* I'd never do> and I absolutely love it.