What Camera Should I Use?

Reaction score
I am planning on doing some networking in house, and have decided to add some security cameras as well. I would like some suggestions, as I have no experience in this area. I am looking for a camera that is at least 3 megapixels (preferably 5), 30 fps (preferably 60), and at least 30m of night vision. It would be also be nice for some zoom, audio recording, and some motion detection (through software). I am willing to spend around $100 per Camera. I will be using Blue Iris. Thanks in advance!

SouthernYankee

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
:welcome:
------------------------------
You are way off course. Please do not spend any money until you become educated.
Read, study, plan.
-----------------------------

My standard welcome to the forum message.

Please read the cliff notes and other items in the wiki. The wiki is in the blue bar at the top of the page.

Read How to Secure Your Network (Don't Get Hacked!) | IP Cam Talk in the wiki also.

Quick start
1) Use Dahua starlight cameras or Hikvision darkfighter cameras or ICPT Night eye cameras (https://store.ipcamtalk.com/) if you need good low light cameras.
2) use a VPN to access home network (openVPN)
3) Do not use wifi cameras.
4) Do not use cloud storage
5) Do Not use uPNP, P2P, QR, do not open ports,
6) More megapixel is not necessarily better.
7) Avoid chinese hacked cameras (most ebay, amazon, aliexpress cameras(not all, but most))
8) Do not use reolink, ring, nest cameras (they are junk)
9) If possible use a turret camera , bullet collect spiders, dome collect dirt and reflect light (IR)
10) Use only solid copper, AWG 23 or 24 ethernet wire. , no CCA (Copper Clad Aluminum)
11) use a test mount to verify the camera mount location. My test rig: rev.2
12) (Looney2ns)If you want to be able to ID faces, don't mount cams higher than 8ft. You want to know who did it, not just what happened.
13) Use a router that has openVPN built in (Most ASUS, Some NetGear....)