What does Axis have that more affordable options don't?

Jayordon

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
I'm a professional installer and I've installed Lorex cameras with one company and Axis and Pelco cameras with another company. From what I've seen, I think the video quality on Lorex and Hikvision looks better than most Axis and Pelco cameras which makes me question why Axis and Pelco are so expensive. I don't mean to just bash on Axis, but I'm genuinely curious why Axis is considered to provide high end cameras when I would argue that they're worse. When the company I'm with installs Axis cameras, we typically use 1080p at 15fps. When I install Lorex cameras, they're 4k at 15fps. Am I missing something with Axis?

biggen

Known around here
Reaction score
I like the Axis build quality. Customer service is also pretty good in that you can talk with them directly via their web portal. If I buy Dahua, I'm not getting any support with Dahua outside of the vendor that sold it to me.

But government agencies also must used approved equipment. I think Dahua is outright banned by use of U.S. government agencies. So that probably leads to an increase in costs since the manufacturer has to provide certain documents to the government that proves where the parts are manufactured, etc... So you disrupt the free market by restricting who can sell to you. They can name their own price practically.

Jayordon

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
I like the Axis build quality. Customer service is also pretty good in that you can talk with them directly via their web portal. If I buy Dahua, I'm not getting any support with Dahua outside of the vendor that sold it to me.