What software do you use for backup?

gwminor48

Known around here
Reaction score
I've been using Macrium Reflect free for several years and really like the software but they are discontinuing support after 2023. I don't mind paying the $150 for a 4-pack for my home computers but I don't know yet whether this is a yearly thing (many companies seem to be going to a yearly subscription) or if they will then discontinue support for the paid version at some point too. What backup software do you use, free or paid?

ludshed

Getting comfortable
Reaction score
^^^back when I was still doing a lot with windows, acronis true image was my go to. Would set computers up with full disk images to be stored offsite and incremental auto backup after that. Their later versions would allow for them to clone backup to even different hardware than original image. Hard drive fails or building burns down you can be back up fairly quickly and easily.

dryfly

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
I've been using Macrium Reflect free for several years and really like the software but they are discontinuing support after 2023. I don't mind paying the $150 for a 4-pack for my home computers but I don't know yet whether this is a yearly thing (many companies seem to be going to a yearly subscription) or if they will then discontinue support for the paid version at some point too. What backup software do you use, free or paid?
My understanding is that the free version will still be available for use, so what will be the results of "discontinuing support"? I guess a lot may depend on an individual's use of the program, but for simple disk image backups I'm not sure what difference this will make.

I'm thinking Macrium was offering a 50% discount on black Friday, but still, there are some other backup programs out there still free but many may not meet the needs of more extensive backup needs.

gwminor48

Known around here
Reaction score