What tools do you bring to your installation site?

rufunky

Pulling my weight
Reaction score
I'm going to be installing 4 - 6 cameras and NVR for my workplace landlord. I would like to make this as smooth as possible so I do not want to be running back and forth between my house where my tools are and the local bigbox store picking up this or that or saying to myself "Damn, I wish I had this or that to make this that much easier!

So,my question is, what do you pros make sure you have at every job site to avoid this?

bp2008

Staff member
Reaction score
I am not a pro, but I've done a few installs at different places. It helps if you bring a phone or tablet that can view the cameras while you are aiming them. Assuming you have wifi available. It sucks aiming a camera when you have to go down a ladder and walk 3 rooms away to get to the NVR to see if you pointed it perfectly yet.

If you are making the network cables yourself from a spool of cable, bring a simple RJ45 continuity tester. Also bring more RJ45 connectors than you need (in case you screw up). In fact it is always nice to have extra parts. Patch cables (network cables) and whatnot. You may find you need an extension cord or a power strip for the NVR, monitor, and any switches you may be installing.

Obviously you'll want a battery powered drill, screws, screwdriver bits, drill bits, etc as necessary.

rufunky

Pulling my weight
Reaction score
I am not a pro, but I've done a few installs at different places. It helps if you bring a phone or tablet that can view the cameras while you are aiming them. Assuming you have wifi available. It sucks aiming a camera when you have to go down a ladder and walk 3 rooms away to get to the NVR to see if you pointed it perfectly yet.