Whats my solution for poe switch & sfp port?

Discussion in 'Accessories' started by MattLJ, Feb 14, 2018.

Share This Page

  1. MattLJ

    MattLJ n3wb

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm stumped...

    Putting together my new system (optiplex pc running BI, (7) Dahua starlight ipcams, TP-Link T1500G-10MPS poe switch) and I'm trying to figure out what to do.

    This switch has 8 POE ports and 2 SFP ports. I need to use 1 port for uplink and 1 more for cat6 going to my modem for remote viewing. So I meed a total use of 9 ports.

    I see the tp-link media converter module to convert sfp to ethernet. But then would need to buy 2 sfp modules and cable or the cable that had the modules built in.

    I was hoping to find something like this that would work with my TP-Link switch but looking at the reviews Im not certain it will.

    https://www.amazon.com/FiberHal-TL-...V5C2/ref=cm_cr_arp_d_product_top?ie=UTF8&th=1

    I cant find info as to what type of transceiver modules work with their switches other than the media converter.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  2. adamg

    adamg Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2017
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    43
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2018
  3. pcunite

    pcunite Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    17
  4. MattLJ

    MattLJ n3wb

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    You're saying a standard gigabit switch right? I was trying to prevent burning up poe port to link a switch since mine had the sfp ports and I knew cisco units can use those 1000base-t modules.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  5. MattLJ

    MattLJ n3wb

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    And also because my plan would be to get another 8port poe switch down the road and if i used poe ports for uplink and daisy chain that burns 3 ports leaving me with 13 usable poe ports and I'm going to need 14. I didn't want a noisy 16 or 24 poe switch.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  6. greg_mitch

    greg_mitch Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    15
    I am using two of these:

    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01LW2P72V/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o07_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

    In my Ubuquiti US-16-150W. Why wouldn't you take advantage of those two ports for your router uplink and another switch uplink if you have one in another part of your network? They are simple to install and are working fine for fairly low cost.