When is Port Forwarding Safe? What devices/programs/apps or Never?

wittaj

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
So we get quite a few posts every month about someone thinking they have been hacked, or someone not understanding the vulnerabilities with allowing their cameras on the internet. I searched here and couldn't find that "one thread" that we could point people to or have them find in a search, so I thought if we had a thread we could simply point them to, it might save a lot of the same things being typed when people come here looking for advice.

Yes I understand we have the WIKI's on not to get hacked and VPN, but to the total newbie I am sure the WIKI is not enough information to be useful to them and let's face it, most don't start there unfortunately.

So here is the WIKI on not getting hacked:

So let's have our experts chime in and when/if it is ever safe to port forward. The internet is full of information and a lot of it is wrong. Here is the top page that comes up when I typed in "when is port forwarding safe" in a browser:

Is Portforwarding Safe

And that webpage and many others all come up saying port forwarding for cameras is safe, yet I do not believe many on this site agree with that.

So when is it safe - Xbox and other gaming units? I couldn't find a single page on the internet that said that is an issue. Other applications you are trying to run?

If there is a case where port forwarding is needed, what steps does someone need to take to keep their system safe?

Last edited:

Lennyz1988

n3wb
Reaction score
Yes the most safe solution is probably using a VPN. But it's not userfriendly.

I don't think it's that unsafe to port forward the RTSP stream of you camera. You don't want to port forward other services from your camera. The main problem is that most camera's won't get updated for more then a few years. After that any security vulnerability won't get fixed and that's bad.