Where do i find my ip address for each camera.

Discussion in 'Dahua' started by chris70cuda, Mar 13, 2018.

Share This Page

  1. chris70cuda

    chris70cuda Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2018
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    2
    Where do i find my ip address for each camera? Sorry for the dumb question this is my first time doing this.

    Dahua HDW-5231RP-Z
     
  2. awsum140

    awsum140 Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    317
    Location:
    Southern NJ
    If you have more than one camera, just download an ip scan tool. The default for Dahua is 192.168.1.108
     
  3. chris70cuda

    chris70cuda Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2018
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    2
    I just got four of these cameras and cant seem to get them to work. I'm guessing it has to deal with the IP setting. Also, it list Dahua as a make but my model does not show up to select for the HDW5231RP-Z
     
  4. Solar Deity

    Solar Deity Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    533
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY
    We need way more information.

    How are you administering the cams? Are you using a POE NVR?

    Use the Config tool from Dahua.

    https://dahuawiki.com/ConfigTool

    As @awsum140 stated, the default IP address is 192.168.1.108, with admin/admin as default login. You need to administer each camera one at a time, change the default IP address so there are no conflicts, or plug them in to the NVR and it will re-assign the IP addresses.

    SD
     
  5. chris70cuda

    chris70cuda Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2018
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    2
  6. chris70cuda

    chris70cuda Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2018
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    2
    OK, So I am still having issues. So in blueirish under webserver it automatically shows my local (LAN) access number. So when I go to add a camera do I just copy that address and add it to the camera http://. I have tried that and still will not connect. I download the config tool from dahua and it shows the camera assigned the stock ip address.
     
  7. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    25,324
    Likes Received:
    6,374
    You are having problems because you honestly have no clue as to what you are doing...you need to start reading the basics on networking...
    the lan ip show in blue iris is the ip of the computer running blue iris..each device on your network must have a unique ip address.
     
  8. chris70cuda

    chris70cuda Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2018
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yes you are right I have no clue. I have read and printed out the who dang manual..been reading it for the past two weeks. I have finally bought everything and trying to get this going. Just trying to get some help
     
  9. chris70cuda

    chris70cuda Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2018
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    2
    Just frustrated because I lack networking skills. Its difficult for me to understand. I spent 1200.00 this past week and have come to this point. Just need some assistance. If anyone would like to walk me through this by phone I would definitely appreciate it.
     
  10. awahl101

    awahl101 Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2017
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    8
    shoot me a pm. 70 cudas are sweet too haha

    Sent from my SM-J727P using Tapatalk
     
    chris70cuda likes this.
  11. tangent

    tangent Known around here

    Joined:
    May 12, 2016
    Messages:
    2,936
    Likes Received:
    1,655
    Connect the cameras 1 at a time and change their ip addresses to static IP's, but first set your router so that its DHCP server doesn't use the whole .2-.254 range and use the space you excluded for the static IPs. Every device on your network needs a unique IP.

    Example set DHCP server to give addresses from 192.168.1.110-254 and use the 2-110 range for static IPs.
     
  12. tangent

    tangent Known around here

    Joined:
    May 12, 2016
    Messages:
    2,936
    Likes Received:
    1,655
    I watched bits and pieces of some youtube networking tutorials a while ago to find something worth recommending. Very few met my standards.

    I highly recommend Eli the Computer Guy's tutorials: Networking - YouTube

    A couple other good resources:
    http://documentation.netgear.com/reference/ita/tcpip/pdfs/FullManual.pdf
    http://www.fujitsu.com/downloads/TEL/fnc/pdfservices/TCPIPTutorial.pdf

    Good but more technical than you need (I occasionally reference these two):
    https://www.redbooks.ibm.com/redbooks/pdfs/gg243376.pdf
    https://www.saylor.org/site/wp-cont...rking-Principles-Bonaventure-1-30-31-OTC1.pdf
     
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2018
    looney2ns, kool_zero, Whip and 2 others like this.
  13. giomania

    giomania Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2017
    Messages:
    618
    Likes Received:
    373
  14. awahl101

    awahl101 Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2017
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    8
    Just to let you guys know the dahua config tool was not working at all, it was not prompting to do the initial password setup on any camera. Had to set the computer in that range and go to the web interface where it prompted you to do this and then set the ip from there.

    It would just say bad password when trying to change from the tool
     
  15. EMPIRETECANDY

    EMPIRETECANDY IPCT Vendor

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2016
    Messages:
    1,863
    Likes Received:
    3,444
    Location:
    HONGKONG
    This is the dahua latest new firmware required, security issues. So have to activate all cams on webpage and then can add.
     
    giomania likes this.
  16. giomania

    giomania Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2017
    Messages:
    618
    Likes Received:
    373
    Andy, thanks for the information; I am going to add this to the cliff notes. On my IPC-HDW4231EM-ASE cameras received last month, I have 2.460.0000.15.R, Build Date: 2017-09-07, but I just used the Dahua ConfigTool to change the IP address, and then logged into the camera to change the password, but I use a password manager, so the browser was essential for that process to work. Is it safe just to say the password change feature when using the Dahua ConfigTool was rendered inactive in camera firmware as of late 2017?