Where to start? NVR not detecting camera connected directly to it :(

BusyDad

n3wb
Reaction score
I recently purchased a LaView NVR (LV-N5216D6E) which came packaged with a few bullet cameras (LV-PZ804N4). The bullet cameras were picked up by the NVR immediately. I decided to buy 2 additional dome cameras (LV-PD51208C) to add to this system. I stuck with LaView branded cameras assuming they would be simple plug and play.

After plugging the cameras in, the NVR did not pick them up. I've tried different cables, ports, etc. Any ideas on where to start finding out why it wouldn't pick these up? I tried emailing LaView Support, but their advice was to do a factory reset (which I did and did not fix the issue), which makes me doubt their usefulness as all this equipment is brand new from them.

Sorry if this is a basic question, but I'm a total newbie to the ipcam area and was lucky enough to stumble onto this site through my late night Googling trying to find a solution.

mat200

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
Welcome Busy,

Double check the user/password data you have entered in the NVR for those cameras.

Ideally it should be a plug and play.

iirc - some of LaView's passwords lengths have increased,

So you may need to try
user: admin
password: 12345, or 123456, or 1234567, or 12345678

iic the last one I heard is working for some newer LaView kits,...

( note, some products have a limit to the number of guesses you can try - so be cautious )

BusyDad

n3wb
Reaction score
Thanks for the reply mat200.

My problem turned out to be waaay more complex than I originally thought, but I was able to get my 2 dome cameras up and running.
I'll post as many details here as possible, to help others who run into similar issues.

Firstly, I suspect the dome cameras were manufactured by a different company from the NVR and the included bullet cameras. The default IPs were nowhere in the range for the NVR.