Who here has run standard Cat6 UTP Cable outside?

rufunky

Pulling my weight
Reaction score
Asking for a friend. Who here has run standard Cat6 UTP Cable outside without conduit? How long did it last? To me this sounds like a horrible idea but I have no experience in doing this therefore its hard for me to say.

to be specific its about a 4 ft section of: 23AWG Cat6 500MHz UTP Solid, Riser Rated (CMR), Bulk Ethernet Bare Copper Cable

c hris527

Known around here
Reaction score
I have seen it before on certain jobs I was on but it was not exposed to sun or direct rain, still working, However i would not do it unless you like doing things twice.

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score
Asking for a friend. Who here has run standard Cat6 UTP Cable outside without conduit? How long did it last? To me this sounds like a horrible idea but I have no experience in doing this therefore its hard for me to say.

to be specific its about a 4 ft section of: 23AWG Cat6 500MHz UTP Solid, Riser Rated (CMR), Bulk Ethernet Bare Copper Cable
I ran standard monoprice 5e cable outdoors 10-11 years ago. Still working great...runs from the basement to the attic, it does ride along a gutter downspout...your 4ft section should be fine...

mat200

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score

Hi Rufunky,

I've run it outside, and direct UV exposure will eventually kill it.
If not exposed to direct UV it will last fairly long.

DavidDavid

Getting comfortable
Reaction score
I ran standard cat5e along the ground for 6 weeks maybe because I was lazy and it took me a while to finish running it thru the wall. Worked great til some animal chewed through it.

Kawboy12R

Known around here
Reaction score