Windows 10 G.711.ulaw codec for audio playback?

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by camerafool, May 15, 2019.

Share This Page

  1. camerafool

    camerafool n3wb

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    6
    Moving from Windows 7 to 10 I am unable to get Blue Iris to play audio live or from recorded clips. The audio is there and it plays fine from iPhone Blue Iris app both live and clips.

    Where do I find the codec to install? I've tried the recommended K-Lite Codec Pack, the mega pack, installed VLC, installed Quicktime. Still no joy.

    Or have I missed something hidden within BlueIris like a global mute feature?
     
  2. camerafool

    camerafool n3wb

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    6
    My Windows 10 is a clean install not an upgrade from 7.
     
  3. looney2ns

    looney2ns IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    7,057
    Likes Received:
    5,357
    Location:
    Evansville, Indiana
    Did you install the correct audio driver?
     
  4. Zanthexter

    Zanthexter Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2016
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    27
    Sounds to me like you're troubleshooting the wrong thing. I assume there could be exceptions if you're using some oddball camera or another, but I've yet to need to install a codec, VLC, or QuickTime and I have quite a few systems.

    Can you watch a YouTube video with audio? Start with making sure Windows works.

    Did you check the Audio tab in Blue Iris settings, and confirm that your audio output is set to whatever you need it to be?

    Did you check "App volume and device settings" in the Windows 10 advanced audio settings and confirm BI is set to use the correct output?

    And, of course, did you confirm you have audio "ON" in BI? In v5 the speaker icon at the top needs to be green, in BI 4 it's the headphone icon in the lower right corner that needs to be green.....

    Oh, and make sure you have a camera selected...
     
  5. bp2008

    bp2008 Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    8,562
    Likes Received:
    5,575
    I don't think BI records with ulaw codec. I think it transcodes to FLAC or AAC or MP3 depending on your settings. Not 100% sure though. The K-Lite Codec Pack should have everything you need for BI recording and playback built right in.

    When you stream to the mobile apps or to UI3 then it certainly does get transcoded again to ulaw, but I doubt BI is using a Windows codec for ulaw, it is just so simple to implement you wouldn't need someone else's codec.
     
  6. Zanthexter

    Zanthexter Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2016
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    27
    I've only used Foscam/Amcrest/Hikvision/Dahua cameras. Are there some cameras that require installing a codec pack? Just wondering since I've had no issues with vanilla Win10+BI and to date have never needed to install one.

    There was a Time-Before-Vudu when I installed codec packs to watch movies and do the HTTPC thing. That led to spending a fair amount of time fixing or reloading Windows the codec packs broke. I'm still very hesitant to suggest that someone install a codec pack without a clear need for one.