Windows 10 Hyper-V Guest Blue Iris network drop out

JackStone

n3wb
Reaction score
I am trying to work out why my BlueIris Hyper-V guest is occasionally dropping the network for about 5 seconds every few minutes.....
I have been using BlueIris for about 2 years as a Hyper-V guest without issue. I upgraded my guest from Windows 8 to 10 about a month ago. But only noticed the network dropping out since playing with the brilliant app Blue Iris Viewer (Love it) a few days ago......

It is definitely the BlueIris VM that is dropping out. All cameras, host, switches, firewall etc etc perform perfectly.
Today I moved the Hyper-V guest to a new Hyper-V host. With no change in behavior. So new physical host, new nic. Tried plugging it into different switches. Behavior doesn't change.
Host doesn't drop out and other guests are fine.
Plenty of RAM and HDD free space.
Guest had a shared nic on previous host, now has dedicated nic in new host. Behavior is identical....
The network doesn't cut out in the sense that the network connection still says it is connected, traffic simply stops / get dropped / doesn't respond.
If I close BlueIris, the issue of the network dropping out stops. If I increase traffic... via BlueIris for IOS or BlueIris Viewer the dropouts become more common. If I stop the BlueIris service the dropouts stop..

So it is not:
NIC related.
Hyper-V host related
cable related
switch related
camera etc related

It is either Windows 10 or BlueIris.
Or:
I will try moving the guest VHD (virtual harddrive) to a new disk. I moved the physical BlueIris disks from the old host to the new host. So once I have done this, assuming it doesn't fix the problem, it would suggest it is a Windows 10 or BlueIris bug... (Windows 10 and Bugs..........!!!!!....#*(&#*(!!!)

The_Penguin

Pulling my weight
Reaction score
Interesting. I just (yesterday) set up a new Windows 10 Hyper-V guest with 2 Top-201 cameras (yeah, no budget) to monitor a server room.