Xprotect 2016

Discussion in 'Milestone Systems' started by colmcille, Dec 16, 2015.

Share This Page

  1. colmcille

    colmcille Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    39
    Hmm, I see a new version is out. Just upgraded and looking at it to see what is new. :)
     
  2. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    16,675
    Likes Received:
    3,183
    What was the charge for the upgrade?
     
  3. tomw

    tomw Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2015
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    20
    Nothing if you have a plan with them (SUP/Milestone care)...Good investment IMHO.
    http://www.wlanmall.com/milestone-xprotect-essential-sup-all-options/

    colmcille, other than a few youtube videos I can not find a list of changes. I do note that they claim significant reduction in cpu when viewing with the mobile client and I can confirm it's true - I used to see 60+% usage on my two virtual cores when I accessed with the client now it barely makes a blip.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 16, 2015
  4. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    16,675
    Likes Received:
    3,183
  5. colmcille

    colmcille Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    39
    It does feel more responsive...not that it felt particularly slow before. I've not had time to look for a list of changes. I can see there is an "Investigations" feature on the web and mobile clients.
    Fenderman, I have an upgrade plan on mine. The first year is free, but after that it costs. I took out a 3 year plan just before my one year was finished recently.
    For my 8 camera system it cost:
    1 x 3 year SUP for Milestone Xprotect Essential Base License = £25.00
    6 x 3 year SUP for Milestone Xprotect Essential Camera License = £78.00

    VAT had to be added to that, so it came to about 123GBP.
    I did ask if I could transfer it all to a new box in case I wanted to upgrade my NUC or it died in that time. They said it wouldn't be a problem, so I went for it. I wouldn't have been so keen if I couldn't change the box.
     
  6. ilovehd

    ilovehd n3wb

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Has anyone tried the new smart client 2016? I was hoping for a reduction in CPU on computers running the smart client, but they appear to be pegged at near 100% just as before it is almost worse than before.. I verified the CPUs in those machines are on the list for Intel Quick Sync Video, I also installed the Intel media SDK.
     
  7. CamFan

    CamFan Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    California
    Not that I spent much time with it, but here are my observations.

    1. I now get notification on my iOS device when an alarm goes off. I have a PIR sensor tied to a camera's alarm input.
    2. No longer allowed to do secure server connection with iOS. Apparently iOS 9 no longer supports self-signed certificates.)
    3. CPU load on my NUC appears to be reduced with mobile client

    Will play more with it this weekend.
     
  8. tomw

    tomw Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2015
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    20
    Strange. What cpu?

    On my desktop (an older i7-2600k) I get 10-15% when displaying 4 cams (3 x 3mp and 1 x 1mp) streams and 1-2% on a full screen 3mp stream.


    That was with the desktop client...jus connected from my iPhone (iOS 9) and got this!!!
    cpu util mobile client.png

    That will not do at all...what the?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 18, 2015
  9. CamFan

    CamFan Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    California
    I think the CPU load still pegs to 100% with mobile clinets. But the iOS devices seem to load the camera images quicker from boot.

    The Windows client appears to work better also.
     
  10. wcrowder

    wcrowder Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2015
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    French Lick, Indiana 47432
    http://wrightwoodsurveillance.com

    $793.00 for a new server (Software Only) with 8 cameras with a one year update... $58.00 for Blue Iris and they might charge $30.00 for the next update... :)
     
  11. colmcille

    colmcille Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    39
    $393 for Essential with 8 cameras and the included 1 year update. Much more than Blue Iris, but will run on a much less powerful system using much less electricity. Exacq doesn't use much in the way of resources either, but also costs money. Each to their own. ;)
     
  12. MR2

    MR2 Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    9
    have not really noticed much of a diff, have to stuff with the config file to turn of the Auto Frame rate thing (so you get clear mobile viewing even on reduced bandwidth)
     
  13. colmcille

    colmcille Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    39
    Why faff with a config file when you can simply click a radio box?
    Mobile server settings.png
     
    MR2 likes this.
  14. MR2

    MR2 Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    9
    ok thats cool :)
     
  15. mrd156

    mrd156 n3wb

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    So the drop in CPU usage only works if you have a client running Win 8.1 or above. I also found no difference on a Win 7 machine, if anything I think it is worse on Win 7. Milestone shows example specifications of clients with third party GPUs. But it will only use it, if the Intel CPU is supported, the GPU is enabled in BIOs and you are running Win 8.1 or above.

    Also, should update your Intel firmware https://downloadcenter.intel.com/

    The CPU, GPU usage is also intended for the Mobile service. But only supported on the desktop CPUs.
     
  16. mrd156

    mrd156 n3wb

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    New Features in 2016;

    - Notifications to mobile app
    - Smart Client to mobile alerts
    - Smart Connect Mobile and Web (No more port forwarding)
    - Hardware decoding for Smart Client
    - ONVIF Bridge (Video Out for ARC)
    - Move cameras between recording servers (Advance VMS)
    - Maps, Alarms, Messages to Video Wall (Advance VMS)
    - Updates to Customer Dashboard
    - Simplified License handling (Replace cameras without reactivation)
    - Updated eLearning
    - Updates to LPR
    - Updates to Access Control Module
    - Tranact for POS is now built-in at no charge (Express and above)
     
  17. MR2

    MR2 Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    9
    Word of Warning, the Hik 2CD-2335 has issues where it flash's gray on the Mobile Client and at this point they don't have a fix...
     
  18. DanPOE

    DanPOE Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    May 17, 2016
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    The Hik DS-2CD3345-I also flashes grey. Otherwise it works great.
     
  19. MR2

    MR2 Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    9
    I have a solution, the issue only effects the Mobile server itself, so uninstall the 2016 mobile server itself, and just install 2014 2.7d and everything is fine