camera placement - all details included - any input is sincerely appreciated

Skyflyer

n3wb
Reaction score
Good afternoon! I realize everyone here is volunteering their time and effort and I'm incredibly thankful for any input you may provide.
I've read the existing posts, but I'm still struggling with camera placement due to non-uniform shape of house. I've spent the last weekend and evenings running Cat-6 through walls, etc., to get my router, POE switch & NVR in one place to support a camera system.

I have an idea of where the cameras should be located, but this is my first time using a non-wifi system, and I'm trying to make sure I'm not missing/overlooking something since getting the Cat6 to some of these locations is taking a lot of work....

I've seen a number of posts in my research where comments were made saying the OP didnt' provide enough detail, so I've tried my best to include everything in this first post. I'm not a details person by nature, but I've tried my best here:
Included pics:
  • Floor plan showing outside dimensions of home
  • ariel view with matching cardinal direction labeling with floor plan
  • edited pictures of home with camera installed or proposed locations
Picture details:
  • Green dots are cameras I've already installed
  • Blue dots are camera locations I think I might need
  • orange dot is if I thought might need one, but leaning more toward not needing
I purchased a Reolink NVR and a couple of cameras to get started but I'm getting overwhelmed trying to sort through FOV, MP, etc. etc. . This is my thinking so far:
  • RLC1224A - From what I've read, it seems the 1224A is Reolink's "best" turret-style camera, so thinking I'll use these for most cameras, especially where they are more visible, and try to keep it aesthetically pleasing.
  • CX410 - Thinking I might use one of these under the deck or on the East side of the house where they're less visible