Newbie warning- need help

sonicpips

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi i have been running the camera setup for a few years with on problems. this was my setup

Hikvision DS-7608NI-SE/8P 8 Channel POE Plug N Play Hi Def NVR Recorder

Hikvision DS-2CD2532F-IS Compact Weatherproof Vandal Dome 3MP IP Security Camera 2.8mm W/ Built in Mic
Hikvision DS-2CD2532F-I Compact Weatherproof Vandal Dome 3MP IP Security Camera 4mm

I had some crazy idea that i wanted to upgrade 2 of my camera's to the 4MP. I replaced 2 of the 2.8mm 3MP with 2 4MP dome camera model DS-2CD2142FWD-IS. I stuck with Hikvision because of the plug and play feature. I just expected to install the new camera and reboot the NVR and it would work. That's not the case. The problem is i Can't bring the new camera online. It is always offline no matter what i do. I also cant login to the camera via the ip address on the box or the IP that the NVR gives it. 5 hours later and i am clueless
Thanks

Also when I do the SADP i am only seeing my NVR.and no other cameras

Last edited by a moderator:

SpeedyDave

n3wb
Reaction score
Plug the new camera(s) directly into your PC.
Run SADP and change the IP address to be in the same range as your other cameras
Do this for both of your new cameras.
Reconnect your PC to the network.
Plug the cams into the NVR and all should be good

sonicpips

n3wb
Reaction score
I tried what you said and it didn't work, I also went online and loaded the newest firmware for my NVR which is 2.3.11 I am starting to think my NVR does not support the newer camera, Does anyone here running a Hikvision DS-7608NI-SE/8P with DS-2CD2142FWD-IS camera's. Thanks,
Trent

Schmark

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
I am running the same NVR as yours with 5 cameras, one of which is a 2CD-2342WD-I (a 4 MP turret). So I believe the DS-7608NI-SE/8P supports the 4MP cameras.