12v poe cameras on a 48v poe NVR

kenp

n3wb
Reaction score
HI guys,

im a newbie here. i just want to ask is there a way where i can make my camera work with my nvr. i just purchased a camera but its 12v poe. when i connected it to the nvr using ehternet cable, it just wont turn on. my bad for buying something w/o checking the spec of my nvr.:(

badly need your advice. thanks...

Opeth

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
I think 12v of the camera says is the jack if you using a power supply. If the camera has poe it work fine with the nvr. Maybe is something else your problem of not showing.

Broachoski

Getting comfortable
Reaction score
I have a few Chinese cameras that require the 12 volt input as they are not true POE cams. I use POE to 12v adapters similar to this link. They work very well and are powered by the 44-57 volts from POE switch.

As an Amazon Associate IPCamTalk earns from qualifying purchases.

kenp

n3wb
Reaction score
using the adapter you specified, i will just directly connect the ethernet ports from nvr to adapter then from adapter to camera leaving the 12v pin not connected?am i right?
sorry for the silly question.

Tekbotslaya

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
Does this image help clarify?
617H1vvZ3iL._AC_SL1500_.jpg
You would connect the adapter to the ethernet and 12 volt connectors on the camera.

Broachoski

Getting comfortable
Reaction score
Tekbotslaya's photo shows how it's connected, ethernet cable in 1 end and both connectors on camera on other end.
The last ones that I ordered were white and provide more weatherproof connections. Here is a link just FYI.

kenp

n3wb
Reaction score
thanks for the reply. based on the image above will my camera work even if my camera doesnt have 12v pin on it?
my camera only has ethernet port.

Broachoski

Getting comfortable
Reaction score