2017 Laview NVR - worth the effort?

sickac

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi!

I am new to ipcamtalk, not sure if this is the best forum to post it on - please let me know if you feel like it fits better somewhere else. Here is what I was hoping you could help me with:

4 years ago, I bought this Laview set:

Amazon.com

"2MP IP Security Camera System, Laview 8 Channel Video NVR Recorder with 2TB Hard Drive, 4 Bullet and 2 Dome 1080p Waterproof IP66 CCTV Indoor/Outdoor Home Surveillance System with 100ft Night Vision"

It is still in the box; I am thinking about installing it soon (I know...).
I started asking myself if it is not too late - 4 years in tech seems like long time, I'd hate to dive deep into it, just to learn it is not supported anymore (or possibly terribly outdated). I started reading Laview Android app reviews, and they are somewhat deflating:(

So here is my question:
- Do you think it is worth investing my time into installation and setup of this set, or shall I just give it up, and get something else?

If it comes to my expectations for the set, I don't mind spending time setting it up initially, but I would hate to learn I need to spend a couple of hours troubleshooting whenever they send a software update. I don't have mega expectations if it comes to picture quality, or robust software features. In general, reliability is a keyword here. It would be nice to have a fairly easy to navigate remote access to recordings, but it is not a dealbreaker.
I am comfortable with running wires (not that I am looking forward to it:)), and I think I should be fine with the hardware/software tweaking.

Dang, much longer than expected... Thank you in advance for your help!

As an Amazon Associate IPCamTalk earns from qualifying purchases.

Flintstone61

Known around here
Reaction score