All camera images freezing but BI 5 admin otherwise running OK

ptzguy

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
I've been running BI 4 with about 20 cameras for several years, so I'm pretty familiar with it.

A few weeks ago, I upgraded to BI 5. Things seemed to be working ok until yesterday, when I noticed that all of the camera views on the main screen were frozen. I didn't even notice at first, because, with 9 cameras displayed, the time stamps are barely visible. Then I noticed a car frozen in place and started investigating.

I have BI running as a service on Windows 10 Pro on an HP i7 laptop using about 50% CPU. Not much else on the laptop other than BI. Only other app running is IE for another camera.
I have several groups with different sets of cameras. All views appear to be frozen.
If I switch to the Status screen, everything looks normal - the Bitrate and FPS columns are continually changing as they normally do.
Looking at the cameras using UI3 from another computer, everything looks normal.

bp2008

Staff member
Reaction score
Hi @ptzguy

On the rightmost edge of the toolbar above the cameras, there is a pause button. You likely clicked it by accident.

You are not the first, nor the last to encounter this!!

Brian

ptzguy

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
Hi @ptzguy

On the rightmost edge of the toolbar above the cameras, there is a pause button. You likely clicked it by accident.

You are not the first, nor the last to encounter this!!

Brian
That was it!! Thanks!
I totally missed that. Still getting used to the new interface, which I really like.
Maybe that button should be made a little harder to hit by accident, though?

bp2008

Staff member
Reaction score
I agree, something should change, because it is too easy to hit by accident and by the time you've noticed the effect, it is long-gone from your mind.

bp2008

Staff member
Reaction score
I believe someone in another thread suggested putting a big "Paused" label in front of each camera.