Blue Iris Google chrome CA and Client Certificate creation and Install

johnmcc

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
I have been researching making an HTTPS connection to stunnel. Which requires an Certificate with a CA. Tried many openssl commands eventually found the reason Chrome does not recognise a CA and Client certificate needs "subject alt names".
Found the following. In the start of each section I put the link to sites I obtained the information from. I am only a novice at certificates and openssl. Usual disclaimer use at your own risk. It worked for me, required the creation of
makecert.bat
client.bat
openssl_SAN.cfg
as follows

at the start of each section have put the address of the site I obtained the information from. I removed https:// from the start of the addresses.

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>Start openssl_SAN.cfg
# from gist.github.com/croxton/ebfb5f3ac143cd86542788f972434c96
[ req ]
default_bits = 4096
distinguished_name = req_distinguished_name
req_extensions = req_ext

[ req_distinguished_name ]
countryName = Country Name (2 letter code)
countryName_default = GB
stateOrProvinceName = State or Province Name (full name)
stateOrProvinceName_default = England
localityName = Locality Name (eg, city)
localityName_default = Brighton
organizationName = Organization Name (eg, company)
organizationName_default = Hallmarkdesign
commonName = Common Name (e.g. server FQDN or YOUR name)
commonName_max = 64
commonName_default = localhost

[ req_ext ]
subjectAltName = @alt_names

[alt_names]
DNS.1 = yourIP.com
DNS.2 = server10.youIP.com
DNS.3 = localhost
DNS.4 = 127.0.0.1
DNS.5 = localhost.yourIP.com
DNS.6 = *.cawhoose.com

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>End of openssl_SAN.cfg
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>makecet.bat
rem videos.didierstevens.com/2015/03/27/howto-make-your-own-cert-with-openssl/
set OPENSSL_CONF=C:\stunnel\config\openssl_SAN.cnf
Rem First I made a directory under stunnel called cert1
set RANDFILE=c:\stunnel\cert1\.rnd