Blue Iris with Alexa?

MOD220

n3wb
Joined
Dec 24, 2018
Messages
14
Reaction score
1
Location
Columbus, OH
Hey guys, I don't see a search option so thought I'd have to make a post...Just installed 5 Reolink Cameras, a PC, and Blue Iris yesterday. Everything appears to be working well, one thing I noticed in BI was a section for "Alexa" integration, was curious what this was about? Not sure if it is to do voice control, or (hopefully), BI can be viewed from Amazon products (Fire, Show, etc.)...Any insight?
 

MOD220

n3wb
Joined
Dec 24, 2018
Messages
14
Reaction score
1
Location
Columbus, OH
thanks, I had my screen pretty small and didn't even notice the font, will try searching (but still open to help of course!)
 

Dasstrum

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Nov 4, 2016
Messages
578
Reaction score
736
Location
Florida
The alexa integration is limited right now. You can change profiles, stop recording and send a PTZ to presets with Alexa... that's about it.
 

Camit

Pulling my weight
Joined
Feb 7, 2017
Messages
412
Reaction score
122
Don’t waste your time with the Alexa, BI has a mobile app which can do tons more, also don’t waste your time with reolink ;)
 

Dasstrum

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Nov 4, 2016
Messages
578
Reaction score
736
Location
Florida
Don’t waste your time with the Alexa, BI has a mobile app which can do tons more, also don’t waste your time with reolink ;)
He's not saying he isnt using the mobile app, just asking what BI will do with Alexa.

I agree with the Reolink statement as they are not the best cameras for the money but again hes not asking for a opinion on the cameras he bought
 
Joined
May 8, 2019
Messages
1
Reaction score
1
Location
Tulsa
The word is blue iris alexa integration is flacks but they are working on an alexa skill to come.
Meanwhile, if you use firestick then monoclecam will display your cams on alexa command "alexa, show me front door cam. Etc.", also, blue iris companion app can be side loaded on firestick to give complete control and display all your cameras
 

pal251

Getting comfortable
Joined
Mar 15, 2014
Messages
1,013
Reaction score
132
I use this with my front door camera (Goswift) Monocle Works great on my Amazon Show
 

Gray Connolly

Young grasshopper
Joined
Oct 26, 2015
Messages
42
Reaction score
2
I am setting up Monocle now, I shall give a report Tomorrow, I have the Echo Show 5 and Ring Cams. I have 4 Blueiris securty cams also. I will most likely get another while they are discounted heavily
 

Gray Connolly

Young grasshopper
Joined
Oct 26, 2015
Messages
42
Reaction score
2
No luck from me, Monocle Skill both recognise Cameras but will not open them, close but no cigar. Any hints tips much appreciated.
 

BlueRidge

n3wb
Joined
Dec 24, 2018
Messages
11
Reaction score
1
Location
Here
I've gotten BI to display on Echo Show. Done via the BI web interface and the silk browser on Echo SHow.

Set up BI web access. Note the external IP address for BI, as well as username & password.
On the Echo, make Silk your web browser (settings - device options - web)
"Alexa, open silk app"
In the browser address bar, enter the BI IP address from above.
Bookmark the address for future use.
 
Last edited:
Top