Bridged Adapter on Blue Iris host (shared with VirtualBox VM)

toreupfeet

n3wb
Reaction score
I'm setting up Blue Iris on a new 11th gen i7. I'm using the same PC to host a VirtualBox VM of Home Assistant with Bridged Adapter network settings (sharing the ethernet adapter on the PC).

I intend to stream some camera feeds to Home Assistant dashboards (currently using RTSP urls for this), which I presume means each camera stream would then be coming through the PC's ethernet port twice, would it not? Is there a way (and a need) to optimize? ...perhaps, in Home Assistant, use the Blue Iris integration video feeds instead of sourcing the streams via RTSP? Or should I purchase and use a USB ethernet adapter for the HA VM?

The Automation Guy

Known around here
Reaction score
The bridged network connection will have it's own MAC address (it's prefilled but changable in the Network Settings of the VirtualBox machine) and it's own IP address as well. While I'm not a network expert, I don't think the streams are coming through the network port twice. It's just that the data flow from the virtual machine has it's own (virtual) IP Address. The network load it no more or less than if you ran the virtual machine's software on the host computer itself (ie you ran BI on the host computer instead of a virtual machine on the host computer).

You should be able to add a second NIC (like a USB ethernet adapter) and assign it to the virtual machine, but honestly it isn't really needed unless the amount of data (the total of the host computer and virtual machine) is really high - and I don't think a "normal" BI setup is going to generate that kind of traffic that you need to be concerned.

Last edited:

toreupfeet

n3wb
Reaction score