Camera placement

restorick2378

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
Hello,

First of all - thank you all for a tremendous resource here at IP Cam Talk. If I hadn't stumbled here, I'd be hip deep in Reolink by now... :lmao:

Also - If this post should be moved to another forum, please let me know.

Please bear with me - I'm a noob trying to absorb as much as possible. My goal is to be able to capture accurate enough video so if we have an incident, the clips would be of use to the police.

I'm noodling on camera placement. While I'm 90% sure I'll be using a mix of 5442 zoom and fixed, I'm not sure exactly where to place them or how to best deal with what seems to be a couple of dead zones. Aerial view of my house/yard:

1678747826321.png

The numbers represent what I think should be my starting points for cams:
  • Cam 1 - mostly west - driveway and side yard. My truck is parked there year-round.
  • Cam 2 - south west - front out to street
  • Cam 3 - north east back yard - we have a doghouse bump out garage where I can place a cam. First area of concern as deadspot is between 1 and 3.
  • Cam 4 - south back yard to woodline
  • Cam 5 - south east back yard to woodline
  • Cam 6 - on the elevated deck
  • Cam 7 - on the gable end front porch - picked up a refurb SD1A203T-GN in hopes it works
  • Cam 8 - under the elevated deck - gonna try a 2nd SD1A203T-GN here
The white borders are the side yards and represent the dead zones. On the south (facing the neighbor's house), there are some windows that could be accessible without a ladder. On the north (woodline), there are no windows.

No light to speak of in the back yard, except for some motion activated lights so we can see the pups when we let them out. While you can see some neighbors through the woodline, the main area east of the backyard is a playground for the church next door. Not lit at all.